Événement passé: Rooted in Place: Stories of Home in the City

Quand : Jeudi, février 28, 2019, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

New York est en pleine crise du logement, le coût du logement étant de plus en plus inabordable. Mais au milieu des discussions et des débats en cours sur la politique du logement, les incitations fiscales et le développement, il peut être facile de perdre de vue l'expérience vécue par ceux qui habitent cette ville. Que pouvons-nous apprendre de ceux qui luttent pour trouver des moyens créatifs de créer ou de conserver une «maison» en ville face aux changements urbains rapides?

Rejoignez-nous pour une conversation qui contextualise et explore ce que signifie vivre dans la ville aujourd'hui sous différentes perspectives.  Dr Mindy Fullilove, l'auteur de "Root Shock", revient sur la longue histoire de New York de déplacement de communautés et de ses effets; architecte Eric Bunge réfléchit sur les essais et les tribulations de la conception de la première micro-unité de la ville; photographe Annie Ling partage ses photographies des habitants de 81 Bowery, où les locataires construisent la communauté dans des quartiers étroits; et historien oral Zaheer Ali partage les histoires que nous racontons sur les communautés de Crown Heights. Animé par un journaliste Tanvi Misra of L'Atlantique CityLab.

Zaheer Ali est l'historien de la Brooklyn Historical Society (BHS), où il enregistre, recueille et conserve les histoires vécues, les témoignages, les mémoires et les narrations de Brooklynites de tous horizons. Un projet récent, Voix de Crown Heights, commémore et examine le quartier en pleine transformation de Crown Heights un quart de siècle après les conflits et les troubles d'août 1991 parfois appelés «l'émeute de Crown Heights». Auparavant, il était directeur de projet du projet Malcolm X de l'Université Columbia.

Eric Bunge, FAIA, est professeur associé adjoint à Columbia GSAAP et co-fondateur de nARCHITECTS, un cabinet d'architecture basé à Brooklyn, fondé dans le but de réunir des concepts innovants, la responsabilité sociale et l'innovation technique pour résoudre les problèmes contemporains. Les projets de nARCHITECTS incluent le NYS Equal Rights Heritage Center, Carmel Place (le premier micro-immeuble de New York) et la rénovation du Navy Pier de Chicago. Bunge est également le co-auteur de Bâtiments et presque bâtiments (2018). 

Mindy Thompson Fullilove, MD, LFAPA, Hon AIA, est professeur de politique urbaine et de santé à The New School. Avant de rejoindre The New School en 2016, elle a travaillé pendant 26 ans en tant que psychiatre de recherche au New York State Psychiatric Institute et a été professeur de psychiatrie clinique et de santé publique à Columbia University. Ses livres incluent La maison de Josué: méditations sur la famille et le lieu (1999); Root Shock: Comment la déchirure des quartiers des villes nuit à l'Amérique et ce que nous pouvons y faire (2004); et Alchimie urbaine: restaurer la joie dans les villes triées de l'Amérique (2013).

Annie Ling est un photographe documentaire engagé dans des projets narratifs intimes et élargissant un discours visuel. Ses premières expositions personnelles Une population flottante au Museum of Chinese in America a présenté plus de quatre-vingt images couvrant quatre ans de travaux de terrain immersifs décrivant les conditions de logement à Chinatown, New York. Le travail de Ling est actuellement en vue ici à l'exposition du Musée de la ville de New York, Vies intérieures: photographies contemporaines de New-Yorkais chinois.

Tanvi Misra (modérateur) est rédacteur pour L'Atlantique CityLab où elle couvre les communautés d'immigrants, le logement, les inégalités économiques et la culture. Elle est également auteur Navigateur, une newsletter hebdomadaire pour les explorateurs urbains et son travail paraît dans The Atlantic, NPR et BBC.

Il s'agit du troisième événement de notre nouvelle série, Logement Tomorrow's City, qui explore les défis et opportunités présentés dans le musée Laboratoire de la future ville, la troisième galerie interactive du New York à son noyau exposition. Pour afficher tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici.

Nos supporters

Ce programme fait partie de notre Logement Tomorrow's City série de programmes, inspirée par notre Laboratoire de la future ville, la troisième galerie de notre exposition primée New York à Its Core. La série est présentée en mémoire de Laboratoire de la future ville conservatrice Hilary Ballon.

Logement Tomorrow's City est rendue possible en partie par Sophia et Peter J. Volandes. 

"Enraciné en place: histoires de maison dans la ville" est co-présenté par CityLab

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Rooted in Place: Stories of Home in the City

When: Thursday, February 28, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $20 & up | $15 for Museum Members

New York is in the midst of a housing crisis, with the cost of housing increasingly unaffordable. But amidst the ongoing conversations and debates about housing policy, tax incentives, and development, it can be easy to lose track of the lived experience of those who call this city home. What can we learn from those who are struggling to find creative ways to make, or keep, a "home" in the city in the face of rapid urban change?

Join us for a conversation that contextualizes and explores what it means to live in the city today from a variety of different perspectives.  Dr. Mindy Fullilove, the author of "Root Shock," takes a look back at New York’s long history of community displacement and its effects; architect Eric Bunge reflects on the trials and tribulations of designing the city’s first micro unit; photographer Annie Ling shares her photographs of the residents of 81 Bowery, where tenants build community in close quarters; and oral historian Zaheer Ali shares the stories we tell about communities in Crown Heights. Moderated by journalist Tanvi Misra of The Atlantic’s CityLab.

Zaheer Ali is the oral historian at Brooklyn Historical Society (BHS), where he records, collects, and curates the lived histories, testimonies, memoirs, and narrations of Brooklynites from all walks of life. A recent project, Voices of Crown Heights, commemorates and examines the transforming Crown Heights neighborhood a quarter-century after the August 1991 conflicts and unrest sometimes called “the Crown Heights riot.” Formerly, he served as Project Manager of Columbia University’s Malcolm X Project.

Eric Bunge, FAIA, is an adjunct associate professor at Columbia GSAAP and a co-founding principal of nARCHITECTS, a Brooklyn-based architecture firm founded with the aim of joining innovative concepts, social responsibility, and technical innovation to address contemporary issues. nARCHITECTS' projects include the NYS Equal Rights Heritage Center, Carmel Place (New York City’s first micro unit building), and the renovation of Chicago’s Navy Pier. Bunge is also the co-author of Buildings and Almost Buildings (2018). 

Mindy Thompson Fullilove, MD, LFAPA, Hon AIA, is a professor of urban policy and health at The New School. Prior to joining The New School in 2016, she worked for 26 years as a research psychiatrist at New York State Psychiatric Institute and was a professor of clinical psychiatry and public health at Columbia University. Her books include The House of Joshua: Meditations on Family and Place (1999); Root Shock: How Tearing Up City Neighborhoods Hurts America and What We Can Do About It (2004); and Urban Alchemy: Restoring Joy in America’s Sorted-Out Cities (2013).

Annie Ling is a documentary photographer committed to intimate narrative projects and expanding a visual discourse. Her debut solo exhibition A Floating Population at Museum of Chinese in America featured over eighty images spanning four years of immersive fieldwork chronicling housing conditions in Chinatown, New York. Ling's work is now currently on view here at the Museum of the City of New York's exhibition, Interior Lives: Contemporary Photographs of Chinese New Yorkers.

Tanvi Misra (moderator) is a staff writer for The Atlantic's CityLab where she covers immigrant communities, housing, economic inequality, and culture. She also authors Navigator, a weekly newsletter for urban explorers and her work appears in The Atlantic, NPR, and BBC.

This is the third event in our new series, Housing Tomorrow's City, which explores the challenges and opportunities presented in the Museum's Future City Lab, the interactive third gallery in the New York at Its Core exhibition. To view all of the programs in the series, click here.

$25 for Adults | $20 for Students, Seniors, and Educators (with ID) | $15 for Museum Members
Includes Museum admission. Note: All galleries close at 6:00 pm.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Our Supporters

This program is part of our Housing Tomorrow’s City program series, inspired by our Future City Lab, the third gallery of our award-winning exhibition New York at Its Core. The series is presented in memory of Future City Lab curator Hilary Ballon.

Housing Tomorrow’s City is made possible in part by Sophia and Peter J. Volandes. 

"Rooted in Place: Stories of Home in the City" is co-presented by CityLab

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?