Événement passé: Sujets intimes: Thomas Holton et les Lams

Quand : Mercredi, janvier 16, 2019, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

"The Lams of Ludlow Street" de Thomas Holton, "Family Portrait", 2004. Avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste. Steven Lam est à l'extrême gauche et Cindy Lam deuxième à gauche.

Dans ce regard intime et en coulisses sur notre exposition actuelle, Vie intérieure: photographies contemporaines de New-Yorkais chinois, photographe Thomas Holton s'assoit avec ses principaux sujets, la famille Lam de Ludlow Street, que Holton a photographié pendant 15 ans. Holton et les Lams parleront de l'évolution et de la dynamique de leur remarquable et durable relation «photographe-sujet». Modéré par Nancy Yao Maasbach, président du Musée des Chinois d'Amérique.

Suite au programme, Vie intérieure sera ouvert pour une visite exclusive en dehors des heures d'ouverture.

Cette conférence accompagne notre exposition Vie intérieure: photographies contemporaines de New-Yorkais chinois (visible jusqu'au 24 mars 2019). Pour voir tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici

À propos des conférenciers:
Thomas Holton est un photographe documentaire basé à New York dont le travail a été exposé dans des lieux tels que la New York Public Library, le Griffen Museum of Photography et le Lishui Museum of Photography en Chine. Sa collection photographique, The Lams of Ludlow Street, a été présentée deux fois dans Le New York Times, Aussi bien que dedans ouverture chargeur.

La famille Lam sont les sujets de la série de photographies de Thomas Holton, "The Lams of Ludlow Street", présentée dans l'exposition du Musée Vie intérieure: photographies contemporaines de New-Yorkais chinois
Commençant comme une famille de cinq personnes dans un appartement de 350 pieds carrés, Holton a documenté les Lams, et comment ils ont changé, au cours des 15 dernières années.

Nancy Yao Maasbach (modératrice) est président du Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA), qui se consacre à la préservation et à la présentation de l'histoire, du patrimoine, de la culture et des diverses expériences des personnes d'origine chinoise aux États-Unis. Avant le MOCA, Yao Maasbach a occupé des postes de direction à l'Association Yale-Chine, au Conseil des relations étrangères et au Centre de recherche et d'analyse financières. 

Notre partenaire

Vie intérieure: photographies contemporaines de New-Yorkais chinois est organisé par le Museum of the City of New York en conjonction avec l'exposition du Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA) Des vies intérieures: photographies de sino-américains dans les années 1980 par Bud Glick.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Intimate Subjects: Thomas Holton and the Lams

When: Wednesday, January 16, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $12 & up | $10 for Museum Members
"The Lams of Ludlow Street" by Thomas Holton, "Family Portrait," 2004. Courtesy of the artist. Steven Lam is on the far left and Cindy Lam second from left.

In this intimate, behind-the-scenes look at our current exhibition, Interior Lives: Contemporary Photographs of Chinese New Yorkers, photographer Thomas Holton sits down with his leading subjects, the Lam family of Ludlow Street, whom Holton has photographed for 15 years. Holton and the Lams will talk about the evolution and dynamics of their remarkable and  long-term "photographer-subject" relationship. Moderated by Nancy Yao Maasbach, president of the Museum of Chinese in America.

Following the program, Interior Lives will be open for an exclusive, after-hours viewing.

This talk accompanies our exhibition Interior Lives: Contemporary Photographs of Chinese New Yorkers (on view through March 24, 2019). To view all the programs in the series, click here

About the Speakers:
Thomas Holton is a New York-based documentary photographer whose work has been exhibited in venues such as the New York Public Library, the Griffen Museum of Photography, and the Lishui Museum of Photography in China. His photographic collection, The Lams of Ludlow Street, was featured twice in The New York Times, as well as in Aperture magazine.

The Lam Family are the subjects of Thomas Holton's series of photographs, "The Lams of Ludlow Street," featured in the Museum's exhibition Interior Lives: Contemporary Photographs of Chinese New Yorkers
Starting as a family of five in a 350-square-foot apartment, Holton has documented the Lams, and how they have changed, over the past 15 years.

Nancy Yao Maasbach (moderator) is president of the Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA), which is dedicated to preserving and presenting the history, heritage, culture, and diverse experiences of people of Chinese descent in the United States. Prior to MOCA, Yao Maasbach served in leadership roles at the Yale-China Association, Council on Foreign Relations, and the Center for Financial Research and Analysis. 

$15 for Adults | $12 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum Members
Includes Museum admission.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Our Partner

Interior Lives: Contemporary Photographs of Chinese New Yorkers is organized by the Museum of the City of New York in conjunction with the Museum of Chinese in America (MOCA) exhibition Interior Lives: Photographs of Chinese Americans in the 1980s by Bud Glick.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?