OUVERT

400 ans d'histoire de New York

Retour aux expositions

Qu'est-ce qui a fait de New York New York? Suivez l'histoire de l'ascension de la ville d'un village hollandais en pleine effervescence à la «capitale du monde» actuelle, et envisagez son avenir dans notre monde en mutation.

Cadrée autour des thèmes clés de l'argent, de la densité, de la diversité et de la créativité, l'histoire et l'avenir de New York prennent vie dans cette exposition inédite, à travers les histoires d'innovation, d'énergie, de lutte et la vision de générations de les immigrants, les politiciens, les magnats, les rêveurs, les maîtres d'œuvre et les New-Yorkais ordinaires.

New York à son noyau capture l'énergie humaine qui a conduit New York à devenir une ville pas comme les autres, mettant en vedette les «grandes personnalités» de la ville - parmi lesquelles Alexander Hamilton, Walt Whitman, Emma Goldman, JP Morgan, Fiorello La Guardia, Jane Jacobs et Jay Z. Les histoires de personnalités moins connues de New York, comme le chef Lenape Penhawitz et le habitant de Lower East Side Susie Rocco, occupent également une place importante dans l'exposition, tout comme certains des résidents à fourrure et à coquille qui ont façonné la vie économique et quotidienne de la ville - parmi eux, le cochon, le castor et l'huître. Et la dernière galerie, le Future City Lab invite les visiteurs à se plonger dans les enjeux de la ville au cours des prochaines années dans un espace immersif et pratique.

À travers près de 450 objets et images historiques, dont plusieurs issus de la riche collection du Musée, ainsi que des vidéos contemporaines, de la photographie et des expériences numériques interactives, nous vous invitons à plonger profondément dans le passé de la ville et à créer vos propres visions pour son avenir.


Faites un tourbillon dans l'histoire des cinq arrondissements avec le nouveau New York à son noyau catalogue!

Sponsors

New York at Its Core est rendue possible par:

James G. Dinan et Elizabeth R. Miller; Pierre DeMenasce; La Fondation de la famille Thompson; Fondation Jerome L. Greene en l'honneur de Susan Henshaw Jones; Heather et Bill Vrattos; Fonds de dotation Charina; Dotation nationale pour les sciences humaines; Citi; Fondation de la famille Zegar; Tracey et Kenneth A. Pontarelli; Hilary Ballon et Orin Kramer; Jill et John Chalsty; Fondation Dyson; Fondation Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe; Valerie et Jack Rowe; Mary Ann et Bruno A. Quinson; Carnegie Corporation de New York; Fondation Booth Ferris; Institut des services des musées et des bibliothèques; La Fondation David Berg; La Fondation Joelson; Les fondations Hearst; Stephen et Stephanie Hessler; William et Elizabeth Kahane; James A. Lebenthal; Trust John P. Strang; Un donateur anonyme; Newton PS Merrill et Polly Merrill; Laura Lofaro Freeman et James L. Freeman; Cynthia Foster Curry; Stephen et Cynthia Ketchum; Robert et Carola Jain; Fondation Anna-Maria et Stephen Kellen; Architecture Todd DeGarmo / STUDIOS; Jim et Diane Quinn; Mitchell S. Steir / Savills Studley; Fondation Netherland-America; Fondation American Express; La Fondation Barker Welfare; Con Edison; Dutch Culture USA / Consulat général des Pays-Bas à New York;

Logo Jerome L Greene
Logo NEH

Leslie et Mark Godridge; Lorna et Edwin Goodman; Kathy et Othon Prounis; Fondation Daryl Brown Uber / William E. Weiss; Ann et Adam Spence; La Fondation Ambrose Monell; Fondation Atran; Nancy et James Druckman; Tom et Deban Flexner; Budd et Jane Goldman; Jim Hanley / Taconic Builders Inc .; Sylvia Hemingway; Susan Jang et Kenneth E. Lee; Gurudatta et Margaret Nadkarni; Nixon Peabody LLP; M. et Mme Stanley DeForest Scott; Elizabeth Farran et W. James Tozer Jr .; Fondation John et Barbara Vogelstein; Réseau du patrimoine du Grand Hudson; Conseil des arts de l'État de New York avec le soutien du gouverneur Andrew M. Cuomo et de l'Assemblée législative de l'État de New York; Melissa Mark-Viverito, conférencière, New York City Council; EvensonBest; Daniel R. Garodnick, Conseil municipal de New York; Elizabeth Graziolo; David Guin et Kym McClain; Stanford et Sandra Ladner; Fondation Lucius N. Littauer; Mary Ann et Martin J. McLaughlin; Association des musées de New York; New Netherland Institute; Jane B. et Ralph A. O'Connell; Constance et Arthur Rosner; Sandy et Larry Simon; Fondation caritative Taconic; Conseil des sciences humaines de New York; Benjamin J. Kallos, Conseil municipal de New York; Fondation caritative Longhill; Fondation Vidda; Fondation de la famille Kathleen S. Brooks; Whitney et Peter Donhauser; Fondation Ferris / Susan Henshaw Jones; Jeffrey Tabak / Miller Tabak + Co. LLC; La Fondation Trafelet; et Mark Forrest Gilbertson.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

NOW OPEN

400 Years of NYC History

  • 1220 Fifth Ave at 103rd St., Open Daily 10am–6pm

    Back to Exhibitions

    What made New York New York? Follow the story of the city’s rise from a striving Dutch village to today’s “Capital of the World,” and consider its future in our changing world.

    Framed around the key themes of money, density, diversity, and creativity, New York City’s history and future come alive in this first-of-its-kind exhibition, through the stories of innovation, energy, struggle, and the vision of generations of immigrants, politicians, tycoons, dreamers, master builders, and ordinary New Yorkers.

    New York at Its Core captures the human energy that drove New York to become a city like no other, featuring the city’s “big personalities” – among them, Alexander Hamilton, Walt Whitman, Emma Goldman, JP Morgan, Fiorello La Guardia, Jane Jacobs, and Jay Z. The stories of lesser-known New York personalities, like Lenape chieftain Penhawitz and Lower East Side denizen Susie Rocco, also figure prominently in the exhibition, as do some of the furred and shelled residents who shaped the city’s economic and daily life – among them, the pig, the beaver, and the oyster. And the final gallery, the Future City Lab invites visitors to delve into the issues facing the city over the coming years in an immersive, hands-on space.

    Through almost 450 historic objects and images, many from the Museum’s rich collection, as well as contemporary video, photography, and interactive digital experiences, we welcome you to dive deep into the city’s past and create your own visions for its future.
     

    Sponsors

    New York at its Core is made possible by:

    James G. Dinan and Elizabeth R. Miller, Pierre DeMenasce, The Thompson Family Foundation, Jerome L. Greene Foundation, Heather and Bill Vrattos, Charina Endowment Fund, National Endowment for the Humanities, Zegar Family Foundation, Tracey and Kenneth A. Pontarelli, Jill and John Chalsty, Dyson Foundation, Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe Foundation, Valerie and Jack Rowe, Mary Ann and Bruno A. Quinson, Carnegie Corporation of New York, Booth Ferris Foundation, Institute of Museum and Library Services, Cynthia Foster Curry, Stephen and Cynthia Ketchum, The David Berg Foundation, The Joelson Foundation, The Hearst Foundations, Newton and Mary Merrill, Stephen and Stephanie Hessler, William and Elizabeth Kahane, James A. Lebenthal, John Strang Trust, Laura Lofaro Freeman and James L. Freeman, Robert and Carola Jain, Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation, Todd DeGarmo/STUDIOS Architecture, Jim and Diane Quinn, Mitchell S. Steir/Savills Studley, Netherland-America Foundation, American Express Foundation, The Barker Welfare Foundation, Con Edison, Dutch Culture USA/Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York.

    Leslie and Mark Godridge, Kathy and Othon Prounis, Daryl Brown Uber/William E. Weiss Foundation, Ann and Adam Spence, The Ambrose Monell Foundation, Atran Foundation, Michael Bruno, Nancy and James Druckman, Tom and Deban Flexner, Budd and Jane Goldman, Jim Hanley/Taconic Builders Inc., Sylvia Hemingway, Susan Jang and Kenneth E. Lee, Gurudatta and Margaret Nadkarni, Nixon Peabody LLP, Mr. and Mrs. Stanley DeForest Scott, Elizabeth Farran and W. James Tozer Jr., John and Barbara Vogelstein Foundation, Greater Hudson Heritage Network, New York State Council on the Arts, Melissa Mark-Viverito, Speaker, New York City Council, EvensonBest, Daniel R. Garodnick, New York City Council, Elizabeth Graziolo, David Guin and Kym McClain, Stanford and Sandra Ladner, Lorna and Edwin Goodman, Lucius N. Littauer Foundation, Mary Ann and Martin J. McLaughlin, Museum Association of New York, New Netherland Institute, Jane B. and Ralph A. O’Connell, Constance and Arthur Rosner, Sandy and Larry Simon, Taconic Charitable Foundation, New York Council for the Humanities, Benjamin J. Kallos, New York City Council, Longhill Charitable Foundation, Vidda Foundation, Kathleen Brooks Family Foundation, Whitney and Peter Donhauser, Ferris Foundation, Jeffrey Tabak, The Trafelet Foundation, Mark F. Gilbertson, Three Anonymous Donors.

    Join MCNY!

    Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?