REPORTÉ: Qui nous serons: imaginer la future ville

Quand : Mercredi, avril 29, 2020, 6: 30pm
Coups de tête: Laura Kurgan, Leticia Peguero, Christina Greer
Laura Kurgan, Leticia Peguero, Christina Greer

Veuillez vérifier régulièrement les mises à jour sur les retransmissions en direct ou les reports possibles.

À quoi ressemblera New York au cours des prochaines décennies? Va-t-il se diversifier davantage, devenir moins blanc et plus hispanique et noir, et attirer plus d'immigrants d'Amérique centrale, d'Asie du Sud et d'Afrique de l'Ouest? La ville deviendra-t-elle encore plus dense et les inégalités et les disparités de revenus persisteront-elles? Les éducateurs, les planificateurs, les artistes et les dirigeants municipaux discutent de la manière de relever les défis de l'évolution démographique de la ville et de concevoir le New York de demain. Avec politologue Dre Christina Greer (Université Fordham), architecte Laura Kurgan (Columbia University), et Leticia Peguero, vice-président des programmes à la Fondation Nathan Cummings.

À propos des conférenciers:
Dre Christina Greer est professeur agrégé de science politique au campus de l'Université Fordham - Lincoln Center (Manhattan). Ses recherches et son enseignement portent sur la politique américaine, la politique ethnique noire, la politique urbaine, les méthodes quantitatives, le Congrès, la politique de New York et de l'État de New York, les campagnes et les élections, et l'opinion publique. Livre de Greer Ethnique noire: race, immigration et poursuite du rêve américain (Oxford University Press, 2013) étudie les populations noires de plus en plus ethniquement diverses aux États-Unis en provenance d'Afrique et des Caraïbes. Elle est l'hôte et le producteur de Les conséquences avec Christina Greer sur Ozy.com.

Laura Kurgan est professeur d'architecture à la Graduate School of Architecture Planning and Preservation de Columbia University, où elle dirige le Centre de recherche spatiale (CSR) et le programme d'études visuelles. Elle est l'auteur de Gros plan à distance: cartographie, technologie et politique (Zone Books, 2013) et co-éditeur de Façons de connaître les villes (Columbia Books on Architecture, 2019). De 2004 à 2015, elle a fondé et dirigé le Spatial Information Design Lab (SIDL) au GSAPP.

Leticia Peguero apporte plus de 20 ans d'expérience dans la direction et la gestion de programmes et d'octroi de subventions aux intersections de la justice sociale et raciale et des arts à son rôle de vice-présidente des programmes à la Fondation Nathan Cummings. Leticia a travaillé dans des organisations de la région de Tristate telles que le Andrus Family Fund, la Posse Foundation, le Robert Wood Johnson Foundation – LFP Program, Planned Parenthood of New York City et the Door. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Fordham et est diplômée avec mention de la Marxe School of Public Affairs avec une maîtrise en administration publique.

Ce programme accompagne notre exposition Qui nous sommes: Visualiser New York en chiffres (jusqu'à l'été 2020) ainsi que le musée Future City Lab, la troisième galerie interactive dans notre New York à son noyau exposition. Pour voir tous les programmes de cette série, cliquez sur ici.

Partisans

Des programmes publics inspirés par Qui nous sommes: visualiser NYC en chiffres sont rendus possibles par la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon.

Qui nous sommes: visualiser NYC en chiffres est rendue possible en partie par la Fondation Andrew W.Mellon, An Anonymous Family Foundation, Carnegie Corporation de New York, Bloomberg Philanthropies, The New York Community Trust, Zegar Family Foundation, Charles H.Revson Foundation, et Blair et Cheryl Effron.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

POSTPONED: Who We'll Be: Imagining the Future City

When: Wednesday, April 29, 6:30pm
Price: $18 & up | $15 for Museum Members
Head shots: Laura Kurgan, Leticia Peguero, Christina Greer
Laura Kurgan, Leticia Peguero, Christina Greer

Please check back regularly for updates about possible livestreaming or postponement.

What will New York City look like in the coming decades? Will it diversify more, become less white and more Hispanic and Black, and draw more immigrants from Central America, South Asia, and West Africa? Will the city become still denser, and will inequities and income disparities persist? Educators, planners, artists and civic leaders discuss how to meet the challenges of the city's changing demographics and design the New York of tomorrow. With political scientist Dr. Christina Greer (Fordham University), architect Laura Kurgan (Columbia University), and Leticia Peguero, vice president of programs at The Nathan Cummings Foundation.

About the Speakers:
Dr. Christina Greer is an Associate Professor of Political Science at Fordham University - Lincoln Center (Manhattan) campus. Her research and teaching focus on American politics, black ethnic politics, urban politics, quantitative methods, Congress, New York City and New York State politics, campaigns and elections, and public opinion. Greer's book Black Ethnics: Race, Immigration, and the Pursuit of the American Dream (Oxford University Press, 2013) investigates the increasingly ethnically diverse black populations in the US from Africa and the Caribbean. She is the host and producer of The Aftermath with Christina Greer on Ozy.com.

Laura Kurgan is Professor of Architecture at the Graduate School of Architecture Planning and Preservation at Columbia University, where she directs the Center for Spatial Research (CSR) and the Visual Studies curriculum. She is the author of Close Up at a Distance: Mapping, Technology, and Politics (Zone Books, 2013), and Co-Editor of Ways of Knowing Cities (Columbia Books on Architecture, 2019). From 2004 through 2015, she founded and directed the Spatial Information Design Lab (SIDL) at GSAPP.

Leticia Peguero brings more than 20 years of experience leading and managing programs and grantmaking at the intersections of social and racial justice and the arts to her role as Vice President of Programs at the Nathan Cummings Foundation. Leticia has worked at organizations throughout the Tristate area such as the Andrus Family Fund, Posse Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation–LFP Program, Planned Parenthood of New York City, and the Door. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Fordham University and graduated with honors from the Marxe School of Public Affairs with a Master of Public Administration.

This program accompanies our exhibition Who We Are: Visualizing New York by the Numbers (through Summer 2020) as well as the Museum's Future City Lab, the interactive third gallery in our New York at Its Core exhibition. To view all of the programs in this series click here

$20 Adults, $18 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$15 for Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

Public programs inspired by Who We Are: Visualizing NYC by the Numbers are made possible by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Who We Are: Visualizing NYC by the Numbers is made possible in part by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, An Anonymous Family Foundation, Carnegie Corporation of New York, Bloomberg Philanthropies, The New York Community Trust, Zegar Family Foundation, Charles H. Revson Foundation, and Blair and Cheryl Effron.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?