REPORTÉ: Creuser qui nous sommes: l'archéologie des New-Yorkais de tous les jours

Quand : Jeudi 2 avril 2020, 6h30
Mise à jour de l'image de l'événement PANYC 2020
Site d'excavation du bloc Stadt Huys, 1979. Image reproduite avec l'aimable autorisation du William Duncan Strong Museum, Columbia University; Artefacts du site du village de Seneca, Central Park, 2011. Gracieuseté de l'Institut pour l'exploration de l'histoire du village de Seneca.

Veuillez noter que ce programme a été reporté. Si vous avez déjà acheté un billet pour ce programme, nous vous contacterons directement.

Qu'est-ce que l'ampoule du Bronx, les bon bon tongs de Brooklyn et un ancien pot en céramique du Queens ont en commun? Ce sont tous des artefacts qui ont été découverts lors de fouilles archéologiques et qui peuvent nous en dire plus sur les personnes qui ont façonné notre ville mais qui sont à peine, voire pas du tout, visibles dans des documents écrits. Inspiré par notre exposition, Qui nous sommes: visualiser NYC en chiffres (ouvert jusqu'au 23 août 2020) cinq archéologues présenteront cinq objets, un de chaque arrondissement, qui humaniseront les données du recensement et illumineront les expériences et les contributions de divers New-Yorkais «ordinaires». Suivi d'une conversation animée par l'éditeur Curbed NY Amy Plitt.

Il s'agit de notre 40e programme annuel présenté en partenariat avec Archéologues professionnels de New York.

À propos des conférenciers:
Allan S. Gilbert (PhD) est professeur d'anthropologie à l'Université Fordham dans le Bronx et spécialiste de l'archéologie du New York historique. Il a dirigé des fouilles au manoir Rose Hill sur le campus Roseham de Fordham pendant 17 ans et a mené des recherches approfondies sur l'histoire de l'utilisation de la brique au début de l'Amérique.

Elizabeth D. Meade (MA, RPA, doctorant) est archéologue à AKRF, une société de conseil en environnement à New York. Elle a obtenu un BA de NYU, une MA du Hunter College et est candidate au doctorat en anthropologie au CUNY Graduate Center. Elle termine actuellement sa thèse sur les cimetières de New York.

Lynn Rakos (MA, RPA) a obtenu ses diplômes de premier cycle et d'études supérieures de l'Université Rutgers. Elle a passé la majeure partie de sa carrière en tant qu'archéologue au gouvernement fédéral, dont 25 ans au sein du US Army Corps of Engineers, dans le district de New York. Elle travaille maintenant pour le US Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Mur de Diana diZerega (PhD), Professeur émérite au City College de New York, est un archéologue spécialisé à New York. Ses intérêts incluent le colonialisme et l'intersection de la classe, de la race et du sexe. Elle est actuellement co-auteur de deux livres, sur New Netherland et sur Seneca Village, la communauté afro-américaine du XIXe siècle située dans Central Park.

Carol S. Weed (MA, RPA) a obtenu sa maîtrise en anthropologie / archéologie de l'Université de l'Arizona avec une concentration sur la céramique amérindienne. Elle a mené des travaux sur les ressources culturelles dans 16 États et à New York, et a contribué en 2018 à la révision des directives archéologiques du LPC. Maintenant à la retraite, Carol continue de consulter et de se porter volontaire sur des projets archéologiques.

Amy Plitt (modératrice)
est l'éditeur de Curbed NY. Elle apporte son obsession pour New York, sa ville natale adoptée, à couvrir presque tous les aspects de la vie à New York, y compris son immobilier, son architecture, ses transports, ses quartiers et sa culture. Le travail de Plitt a également été publié dans Time Out New York, Condé Nast Traveler, Rolling Stone, et Mental Floss. Elle est également l'auteur de Guide de l'aventure du métro: New York (2015) , un guide pratique pour une partie souvent négligée du système de métro de New York: les plus de 30 arrêts de métro de fin de ligne et les quartiers qui les entourent.

Partisans

Des programmes publics inspirés par Qui Nous Sommes sont rendus possibles par la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon.

Qui Nous Sommes est rendue possible en partie par la Fondation Andrew W.Mellon, An Anonymous Family Foundation, Carnegie Corporation de New York, Bloomberg Philanthropies, The New York Community Trust, Zegar Family Foundation, Charles H.Revson Foundation, et Blair et Cheryl Effron.

Partenaire

Ce programme est co-présenté avec Archéologues professionnels de New York.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

POSTPONED: Digging Who We Are: The Archaeology of Everyday New Yorkers

When: Thursday, April 2, 6:30pm
Price: $12 & up | $10 for Museum Members
PANYC 2020 event image update
The Stadt Huys Block excavation site, 1979. Image courtesy William Duncan Strong Museum, Columbia University; Artifacts from the Seneca Village site, Central Park, 2011. Courtesy of Institute for the Exploration of Seneca Village History.

Please note that this program has been postponed. If you already purchased a ticket for this program, we will contact you directly. 

What do a light bulb in the Bronx, bon bon tongs in Brooklyn, and an ancient ceramic pot in Queens have in common? They are all artifacts that have been uncovered in archaeological excavations and that can tell us more about people who have shaped our city but who are barely, if at all, visible in written documents. Inspired by our exhibition, Who We Are: Visualizing NYC by the Numbers (open through August 23, 2020) five archaeologists will present five objects, one from each borough, that humanize census data and illuminate the experiences and contributions of diverse “ordinary” New Yorkers. Followed by a conversation moderated by Curbed NY editor Amy Plitt.

This is our 40th annual program presented in partnership with Professional Archaeologists of New York City.

About the Speakers:
Allan S. Gilbert (PhD) is Professor of Anthropology at Fordham University in the Bronx and a specialist in the archaeology of historic New York.  He directed excavations at the Rose Hill manor on Fordham’s Rose Hill campus for 17 years and has conducted extensive research on the history of brick use in early America.

Elizabeth D. Meade (MA, RPA, PhD candidate) is an archaeologist at AKRF, an environmental consulting firm in New York City. She earned a BA from NYU, an MA from Hunter College, and is a PhD candidate in anthropology at the CUNY Graduate Center. She is currently completing her dissertation on the cemeteries of New York City.

 Lynn Rakos (MA, RPA) received her undergraduate and graduate degrees from Rutgers University.  She has spent most of her career as an archaeologist with the federal government, including 25 years with the US Army Corps of Engineers, New York District.  She now works for the US Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

Diana diZerega Wall (PhD), Professor Emerita at City College of New York, is an archaeologist who specializes in New York City. Her interests include colonialism and the intersection of class, race, and gender. She is currently co-authoring two books, on New Netherland and on Seneca Village, the 19th century African-American community that was located in today’s Central Park.

Carol S. Weed (MA, RPA) received her Masters’ in Anthropology/Archaeology from the University of Arizona with a focus on Native American ceramics. She has conducted cultural resources work in 16 states and New York City, and in 2018 helped revise the LPC Archaeological Guidelines. Now retired, Carol continues to consult and volunteer on archaeological projects.

Amy Plitt (moderator) 
is the editor of Curbed NY. She brings her obsession with New York City, her adopted hometown, to covering almost every aspect of life in New York, including its real estate, architecture, transportation, neighborhoods, and culture. Plitt's work has also been published in Time Out New York, Condé Nast Traveler, Rolling Stone, and Mental Floss. She's also the author of Subway Adventure Guide: New York City (2015), a handy guidebook to an oft-overlooked portion of New York's subway system: the more than 30 end-of-line subway stops, and the neighborhoods surrounding them.

$15 Adults, $12 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$10 for Museum Members and PANYC Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Partners

This program is co-presented with Professional Archaeologists of New York City

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?