Événement passé: Moonlight & Movies: En el Séptimo Día

Quand : Mardi, Juillet 16, 2019, 8: 00pm
Gracieuseté de Cinema Guild

Rejoignez-nous pour une projection au clair de lune de En el Séptimo Día (2017, 92 min), avec un happy hour avant le spectacle avec musique live du Guataca Roots Trio.

Tourné sur place à Sunset Park, Brooklyn, En el Séptimo Día (le septième jour) suit José (Fernando Cardona), livreur de vélos sans papiers, pendant sept jours. Lorsque son équipe de football arrive en finale un jour où on lui demande de travailler, José, le capitaine de l'équipe, est obligé de choisir entre travailler et jouer, un choix plus compliqué qu'il n'y paraît. Remarques liminaires du réalisateur du film Jim McKay et militante des droits des travailleurs et des immigrants Mel González de Make the Road New York. 

Le billet de cinéma comprend un bon pour une boisson. Boissons et collations supplémentaires disponibles à l'achat. 

Chronologie: 
7:00 pm - L'happy hour commence (le billet de cinéma comprend un bon pour une boisson) 
7:30 pm - Portes ouvertes à la projection du film
8:00 pm - Les remarques introductives commencent
8:30 pm - Début de la projection du film (92 min) 
10:15 pm - Fin de la projection du film

À propos des conférenciers:
Jim McKay est réalisateur, scénariste et producteur. Ses films incluent Ville de filles (1996), qui a reçu le trophée des cinéastes et le prix spécial du jury pour sa collaboration au Sundance Film Festival 1996, Notre chanson (2000), Everyday People (2004), et Angel Rodriguez (2005). Il a réalisé des épisodes de The WireBig LoveLa loi et l'ordreainsi que  In Treatment, entre autres spectacles. En el Séptimo Día, son premier film en 12 ans, a été publié dans 2017.

Mel González fait partie de l'équipe juridique de Make the Road New York et membre d'Equal Justice Works. Il défend les intérêts des livreurs de nourriture de la ville et a créé un groupe de travail livriste pour discuter et trouver des solutions aux problèmes affectant les travailleurs. Il a également plaidé pour la légalisation des vélos électriques et aidé les travailleurs à récupérer les salaires impayés. Gonzalez est diplômé de l'Université de Californie, Berkeley, School of Law.

À propos du Guataca Roots Trio:
Le Guataca Roots Trio joue son fils Cubano, salsa, bolero et cha pour faire danser, sourire et chanter les gens. «Guataca» signifie jouer à l'oreille et avec le cœur. Sur les percussions et le chant, Jainardo Batista, de San Juan, Porto Rico. Sur tres et chant c'est Yuniel Jiménez, de Santa Clara, Cuba. À la basse et au chant, Josué Levine, de NYC. Pour plus d'informations, visitez www.joshlevinemusic.com

Pour voir tous nos Clair de lune et films projections de films en plein air, cliquez sur ici

Ce programme accompagne également nos expositions, City of Workers, City of Struggle: comment les mouvements ouvriers ont changé New York ET Faire du vélo dans la ville: 200 ans d'histoire.  

En cSous la pluie, la projection sera déplacée à l'intérieur et aura lieu en même temps. 


Voir une bande-annonce du film ici: 

Partisans

Clair de lune et films est rendue possible en partie par Sophia et Peter J. Volandes.

Ville d'ouvriers, Ville de lutte et ses programmes associés sont rendus possibles par La Fondation Puffin, Ltd. 

Un merci spécial à la Club de vélo des cinq arrondissements ET Alternatives de transport.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Moonlight & Movies: En el Séptimo Día

When: Tuesday, July 16, 8:00pm – 10:15pm
Price: $15 General Admission (includes drink voucher)
Courtesy of Cinema Guild

Join us for a moonlit screening of En el Séptimo Día (2017, 92 min), featuring a pre-show happy hour with live music by the Guataca Roots Trio.

Shot on location in Sunset Park, Brooklyn, En el Séptimo Día (On the Seventh Day) follows José (Fernando Cardona), an undocumented bike delivery worker, over the course of seven days. When his soccer team makes the finals on a day he is asked to work, José, the team's captain, is forced to decide between work and play, a more complicated choice than it seems. Introductory remarks by the film's director Jim McKay and labor and immigrants' rights activist Mel Gonzalez of Make the Road New York. 

Movie ticket includes a drink voucher. Additional drinks and snacks available for purchase. 

Timeline: 
7:00 pm - Happy hour begins (movie ticket includes a drink voucher) 
7:30 pm - Doors open to film screening
8:00 pm - Introductory remarks begin
8:30 pm - Film screening begins (92 min) 
10:15 pm - Film screening concludes

About the Speakers:
Jim McKay is a director, writer, and producer. His films include Girls Town (1996), which received the Filmmakers Trophy and Special Jury Prize for Collaboration at the 1996 Sundance Film Festival, Our Song (2000), Everyday People (2004), and Angel Rodriguez (2005). He has directed episodes of The WireBig LoveLaw & Order, and In Treatment, among other shows. En el Séptimo Día, his first film in 12 years, was released in 2017.

Mel Gonzalez is part of the legal team at Make the Road New York and an Equal Justice Works fellow. He advocates on behalf of the city's food delivery workers and has created a deliverista working group to discuss and generate solutions for issues affecting workers. He has also advocated for the legalization of electric bicycles and helped workers recover unpaid wages. Gonzalez has a degree from the University of California, Berkeley, School of Law.

About the Guataca Roots Trio:
Guataca Roots Trio plays son Cubano, salsa, bolero and cha to make people dance, smile, and sing along. “Guataca” means to play by ear and from the heart. On percussion and vocals is Jainardo Batista, from San Juan, Puerto Rico. On tres and vocals is Yuniel Jimenez, from Santa Clara, Cuba. On bass and vocals, Joshua Levine, from NYC. For more information visit www.joshlevinemusic.com

To view all of our Moonlight & Movies outdoor film screenings, click here

This program also accompanies our exhibitions, City of Workers, City of Struggle: How Labor Movements Changed New York and Cycling in the City: A 200-Year History.  

In case of rain, the screening will be moved indoors and take place at the same time. 


View a trailer of the film here: 


$15 General Admission
Ticket includes a drink voucher. 

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

Moonlight & Movies is made possible in part by Sophia and Peter J. Volandes.

City of Workers, City of Struggle and its associated programs are made possible by The Puffin Foundation, Ltd. 

Special thanks to the Five Borough Bike Club and Transportation Alternatives.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?