Quand : Mercredi 11 novembre 2020, 7 h 00

Cet événement est passé.

Une fontaine avec une statue tenant le drapeau portoricain
Photo de Ricky Flores

Notre dernière session explorera New York en tant que ville festive. Nous réfléchirons à la manière dont les défilés, les concours, les marches organisées, les feux d'artifice et autres cérémonies civiques publiques marquent «l'arrivée» de groupes auparavant marginaux - et comment, en même temps, ils gardent ouverte la possibilité d'une action politique plus conflictuelle dans futur. Encore une fois, nous nous concentrerons sur les images et autres iconographies, en regardant comment des célébrations telles que la fierté, le défilé de la journée portoricaine et la parade de la Journée des Indes occidentales utilisent l'espace public comme un moyen d'élargir le champ de la démocratie pluraliste et multiculturelle - et comment ces activités «sanctionnées» existent sur un continuum avec des manifestations de rue plus spontanées.

À propos des conférenciers: 
Ginia Bellafante a servi à Le New York Times en tant que journaliste, critique et, depuis 2011, en tant que chroniqueur du journal "Big City". Elle a commencé sa carrière au Horaires en tant que critique de mode, en examinant la façon dont les vêtements et l'art de les fabriquer reflètent des tendances sociétales plus larges. Pendant plusieurs années, avant de rejoindre la section métropolitaine, elle a été critique de télévision. Son travail est apparu tout au long du journal, y compris sur A1 où, il y a dix ans, elle a écrit sur la façon dont les parents homosexuels divisent le travail domestique; elle a également écrit pour les pages culture et styles ainsi que pour le magazine et la critique de livres. Avant de rejoindre le Horaires, Bellafante était un écrivain senior à Horaire chargeur.

Ricky Flores est né à New York de parents portoricains en 1961. Flores a commencé à documenter la vie dans le South Bronx après avoir acheté un appareil photo avec un petit héritage qu'il a reçu de son père en 1980. Au fil des ans, Flores a travaillé à la pige pour Les nouvelles journalières, Le New York Times, Le soleil de la ville et The Village Voice. Flores a été reconnu pour sa couverture des attaques contre le World Trade Center le 11 septembre 2001 et a remporté à deux reprises la New York Press Publishers Association for Spot News. Il a une installation permanente à l'IS 206 dans la section Tremont du Bronx commandée par la School Construction Authority, le New York City Board of Education et le New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.  

Vinson Cunningham (modérateur) rejoint The New Yorker comme écrivain en 2016. Ses écrits sur les livres, l'art et la culture ont paru dans Le magazine du New York TimesLa critique de livre du New York Times, Vautour et McSweeney's, où il a écrit une chronique intitulée «Field Notes from Gentrified Places». Il avait auparavant été assistant du personnel de l'administration Obama.

Cet événement est la dernière session de notre série en quatre parties, Another City: Nouveau sens dans les espaces publics de New York. Pour afficher tous les événements de la série, cliquez sur ici

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

When: Wednesday, November 11, 2020, 7:00pm – 8:15pm
Price: Entire Series $80 & up, $70 Museum Members
A fountain with a statue holding the Puerto Rican flag
Photo by Ricky Flores

Our final session will explore New York as a celebratory city. We'll think about how parades, pageants, organized marches, fireworks displays and other public civic ceremonies mark the "arrival" of previously marginal groups—and how, at the same time, they keep open the possibility of more confrontational political action in the future. Again, we'll focus on images and other iconography, with an eye toward how celebrations such as Pride, the Puerto Rican Day parade, and West Indian Day Parade use public space as a way to widen the ambit of pluralistic, multicultural democracy—and how these "sanctioned" activities exist on a continuum with more spontaneous street protest.

About the Speakers: 
Ginia Bellafante has served at The New York Times as a reporter, critic and, since 2011, as the paper's "Big City" columnist. She began her career at the Times as a fashion critic, examining the way that clothes and the art of making them reflected broader societal trends. For several years, before she joined the Metropolitan section, she was a television critic. Her work has appeared throughout the paper, including on A1 where, a decade ago, she wrote about how gay parents divide domestic labor; she has also written for the culture and styles pages as well as the magazine and the book review. Prior to joining the Times, Bellafante was a senior writer at Time magazine.

Ricky Flores was born in New York to Puerto Rican parents in 1961. Flores started documenting life in the South Bronx after he purchased a camera with a small inheritance he received from his father in 1980. Over the years Flores has freelanced for The Daily News, The New York Times, The City Sun and The Village Voice. Flores was recognized for his coverage of the attacks on World Trade Center on September 11, 2001 and is a two time winner of the New York Press Publishers Association for Spot News. He has a permanent installation at I.S. 206 in the Tremont section of the Bronx commissioned by the School Construction Authority, New York City Board of Education and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs.  

Vinson Cunningham (moderator) joined The New Yorker as a staff writer in 2016. His writing on books, art, and culture has appeared in The New York Times MagazineThe New York Times Book Review, Vulture, and McSweeney’s, where he wrote a column called “Field Notes from Gentrified Places.” He previously served as a staff assistant in the Obama Administration.

This event is the final session in our four-part series, Another City: New Meaning in New York's Public Spaces. To view all events in the series, click here

Entire Series (four sessions):
$90 General Admission
$80 Seniors, Students, and Educators
$70 Museum Members

Single Session:
$25 General Admission
$20 Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Closed captions will be available for this program. Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

 

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?