Quand : Mercredi, octobre 14, 2020, 7: 00pm

Cet événement est passé.

Photo en noir et blanc de manifestants marchant sur le pont de Brooklyn
Copyright © 2020 Mark Clennon Creative, LLC. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Notre première séance se concentrera sur (mais sans s'y limiter) les manifestations qui ont suivi les meurtres de George Floyd et Breonna Taylor plus tôt cette année. Nous nous demanderons comment les moments de protestation et de troubles sociaux ont refait les espaces publics de New York - et comment, à son tour, l'espace public a façonné les mouvements qui ont contribué à transformer notre monde. Un grand nombre de nos endroits les plus reconnaissables - le pont de Brooklyn, Union Square, Fordham Road - ont assumé des rôles de premier plan pendant ces premiers jours de juin.  Nous allons creuser dans la façon dont ces espaces ont affecté la façon dont le mouvement était représenté: en version imprimée, à travers des photographies et dans les centaines de clips vidéo qui ont fait le tour du monde.  

Veuillez noter que ce programme se déroulera virtuellement, via Zoom. Les inscrits recevront un lien à regarder par e-mail avant l'événement. 

À propos des conférenciers:
Marc Clennon est un artiste basé à New York, spécialisé dans la photographie éditoriale, commerciale et documentaire. Son objectif est de capturer l'expérience noire dans sa totalité - joie, douleur et triomphe. Clennon, originaire de Floride et diplômé de l'Université de Floride du Sud, décrit son travail comme fantasque de défi. Son travail a été présenté par TIME Magazine, le New yorkais, New York magazine, Magazine Essence, Vogue, et plus. Vous pouvez voir ses photos des récentes manifestations à New York ici

Mabel Wilson est le professeur Nancy et George Rupp d'architecture, de planification et de préservation, professeur en études afro-américaines et diasporiques africaines et directeur associé de l'Institut de recherche en études afro-américaines (IRAAS) à l'Université de Columbia. Au GSAPP, elle codirige le Laboratoire mondial d'Afrique. Grâce à sa pratique transdisciplinaire Studio &, Wilson rend visible et lisible la manière dont le racisme anti-noir façonne l'environnement bâti ainsi que la manière dont la noirceur crée des espaces d'imagination, de refus et de désir. Ses recherches portent sur l'espace, la politique et la mémoire culturelle en Amérique noire; race et architecture moderne; les nouvelles technologies et la production sociale de l'espace; et la culture visuelle dans l'art contemporain, les médias et le cinéma.

Vinson Cunningham (modérateur) rejoint The New Yorker comme écrivain en 2016. Ses écrits sur les livres, l'art et la culture ont paru dans Le magazine du New York TimesLa critique de livre du New York Times, Vautour et McSweeney's, où il a écrit une chronique intitulée «Field Notes from Gentrified Places». Il avait auparavant été assistant du personnel de l'administration Obama.

Cet événement fait partie de notre série, Another City: Nouveau sens dans les espaces publics de New York. Pour afficher tous les événements de la série, cliquez sur ici

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Protest City

When: Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 7:00pm – 8:15pm
Price: Entire Series $80 & up, $70 Museum Members
Black and white photo of protestors walking across the Brooklyn Bridge
Copyright © 2020 Mark Clennon Creative, LLC. All rights reserved.

This first session in our series, Another City: New Meanings in New York's Public Spaces will focus on (but not be limited to) the protests that followed the killings of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor earlier this year. We will ask how moments of protest and social unrest have remade New York City's public spaces—and how, in turn, public space has shaped the movements that have helped transform our world.  So many of our most recognizable places—the Brooklyn Bridge, Union Square, Fordham Road—took on leading roles during those early June days.  We will dig into how those spaces affected how the movement was represented: in print, through photographs and in the hundreds of video clips that made their way around the world.  

Please note that this program will take place virtually, via Zoom. Registrants will receive a link to watch via email in advance of the event. 

About the Speakers:
Mark Clennon is an NYC based artist specializing in editorial, commercial and documentary photography. His goal is to capture the black experience in its totality—joy, pain, and triumph. Clennon, a Florida native and graduate of The University of South Florida, describes his work as whimsically defiant. His work has been featured by TIME Magazine,the New Yorker, New York magazine, Essence Magazine, Vogue, and more. You can view his photos of recent protests in New York City here

Mabel Wilson is the Nancy and George Rupp Professor of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, a Professor in African American and African Diasporic Studies, and the Associate Director of the Institute for Research in African American Studies (IRAAS) at Columbia University. At GSAPP she co-directs the Global Africa Lab. Through her transdisciplinary practice Studio &, Wilson makes visible and legible the ways that anti-black racism shapes the built environment along with the ways that blackness creates spaces of imagination, refusal and desire. Her research investigates space, politics and cultural memory in black America; race and modern architecture; new technologies and the social production of space; and visual culture in contemporary art, media and film.

Vinson Cunningham (moderator) joined The New Yorker as a staff writer in 2016. His writing on books, art, and culture has appeared in The New York Times MagazineThe New York Times Book Review, Vulture, and McSweeney’s, where he wrote a column called “Field Notes from Gentrified Places.” He previously served as a staff assistant in the Obama Administration.

This event is a part of our series, Another City: New Meaning in New York's Public Spaces. To view all of the events in the series, click here

Entire Series (four sessions):
$90 General Admission
$80 Seniors, Students, and Educators
$70 Museum Members

Single Session:
$25 General Admission
$20 Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Closed captions will be available for this program. Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?