Revisiter la Renaissance de Harlem: arts visuels et design noir

Quand : Jeudi, mai 6, 2021, 5: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

Une photographie d'un détail de la frise Exodus and Dance de Richmond Barthé à Kingsborough Houses
Détail de la frise Exodus and Dance de Richmond Barthé à Kingsborough Houses, photographie de Margaret Vendryes

Les conférences distinguées Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe en histoire urbaine

En 1940, Alain Locke consacre Le nègre dans l'art à sa mère "en remerciement pour un sens de la beauté qui incluait la nôtre". Le mouvement New Negro dans les arts visuels, qu'il faisait progresser depuis plus d'une décennie, révèle les vues particulières de Locke sur le rôle joué par l'art africain et afro-américain dans une catharsis naissante de la conscience et du respect de la vie noire. Après une présentation sur la poursuite de Locke de cet agenda avec des artistes tels que Richmond Barthé, Aaron Douglas et Augusta Savage, Jeffrey C. Stewart sera rejoint par un artiste et historien de l'art Marguerite Rose Vendryes pour discuter des défis auxquels les artistes ont été confrontés pour faire progresser la philosophie esthétique de Locke et sa résonance avec les artistes visuels noirs et queer d'aujourd'hui. 

C'est le troisième événement de notre série Revisiter la Renaissance de Harlem. Pour afficher tous les événements de cette série, cliquez sur ici

À propos des conférenciers:
Marguerite Rose Vendryes est un historien d'artiste noir, queer et radical qui pratique activement en studio dans le sud-est du Queens, à New York. Née en Jamaïque, WI et principalement élevée à New York, elle a obtenu son BA en beaux-arts à l'Amherst College, sa maîtrise en histoire de l'art à l'Université de Tulane et son doctorat à l'Université de Princeton. Vendryes est l'auteur de la monographie d'artiste du mouvement New Negro Arts Barthé, une vie en sculpture (UP Mississippi, 2008). Elle est actuellement professeur d'histoire de l'art et présidente du Département des arts de la scène et des beaux-arts et directrice de la Fine Arts Gallery, York College, CUNY.  Mrvendryes.com

Jeffrey C. Stewart est professeur au Département des études sur les Noirs de l'Université de Californie à Santa Barbara. Auparavant, il était directeur de recherche au musée Anacostia de la Smithsonian Institution, conservateur invité à la Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery et conseiller principal du Reginald Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture à Baltimore, Maryland. Auteur de nombreux articles, essais et livres, Stewart a enseigné à l'Université de Harvard, à l'Université de Yale, à l'UCLA, à l'Université Tufts, à l'Université Howard, au Scripps College et à l'Université George Mason avant de rejoindre l'Université de Californie à Santa Barbara en tant que professeur et président. du Département des études sur les noirs de 2008 à 2016. Son livre, Le nouveau nègre: la vie d'Alain Locke a été publié en 2018 par Oxford University Press et a remporté le National Book Award in Nonfiction 2018, le prix James A. Rawley 2019 de l'Organisation des historiens américains, le prix d'histoire Mark Lynton 2019 de la Nieman Foundation et la Columbia School of Journalism, le 2019 American Book Award et le prix Pulitzer 2019 pour la biographie. Stewart est également l'éditeur du prochain livre La nouvelle esthétique noire: certains écrits par Alain Locke.

Supporters

Ce programme est rendu possible par Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Revisiting the Harlem Renaissance: Visual Arts and Black Design

When: Thursday, May 6, 2021, 5:30pm
Price: Single Session: $15 & up | Entire Series: $55 & up
a Photograph of a detail of Richmond Barthé's Exodus and Dance frieze at Kingsborough Houses
Detail of Richmond Barthé's Exodus and Dance frieze at Kingsborough Houses, photograph by Margaret Vendryes

The Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History

In 1940, Alain Locke dedicated The Negro in Art to his mother "in gratitude for a sense of beauty that included our racial own." The New Negro movement in the visual arts, which he had been advancing for over a decade, reveals Locke's particular views of the role African and African American art played in a burgeoning catharsis of consciousness and respect for Black life.  Following a presentation on Locke's pursuit of this agenda with such artists as Richmond Barthé, Aaron Douglas, and Augusta Savage, Jeffrey C. Stewart will be joined by artist and art historian Margaret Rose Vendryes to discuss the challenges artists faced in furthering Locke's aesthetic philosophy and its resonance with today's Black and Queer visual artists. 

This is the third event in our series Revisiting the Harlem Renaissance. To view all of the events in this series, click here

About the Speakers:
Margaret Rose Vendryes is a black, queer, radical artist historian with an active studio practice in Southeast Queens, New York City.  Born in Jamaica, WI and primarily raised in New York City, she completed her BA in fine arts at Amherst College, MA in art history at Tulane University, and PhD at Princeton University. Vendryes is the author of the New Negro Arts movement artist monograph Barthé, A Life in Sculpture (UP Mississippi, 2008).  She is currently Professor of art history and chairperson of the Department of Performing and Fine Arts and Director of the Fine Arts Gallery, York College, CUNY.  Mrvendryes.com

Jeffrey C. Stewart is a professor in the Department of Black Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Previously, he was director of research at the Smithsonian Institution's Anacostia Museum, a guest curator at the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery, and a senior advisor to the Reginald Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture in Baltimore, Maryland. The author of numerous articles, essays, and books, Stewart has taught at Harvard University, Yale University, UCLA, Tufts University, Howard University, Scripps College, and George Mason University before coming to the University of California, Santa Barbara as professor and chair of the Department of Black Studies from 2008-2016. His book, The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke was published in 2018 by Oxford University Press and has won the 2018 National Book Award in Nonfiction, the 2019 James A. Rawley Prize of the Organization of American Historians, 2019 Mark Lynton History Prize of the Nieman Foundation and Columbia School of Journalism, the 2019 American Book Award, and the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Biography.

Individual Sessions:
$25 general admission
$20 seniors, students, educators
$15 Members

Join us for all four sessions, or purchase individual session tickets. Please note that each event will run approximately 75 minutes.

Members, sign in to receive your discount at check out. Please email programs@mcny.org with any questions.

Accessibility: Closed captions will be available for this program. Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

This program is made possible by Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?