Revisiter la Renaissance de Harlem: l'art est philosophie

Quand : Jeudi 22 avril 2021, 5h30

Cet événement est passé.

Jeffrey Stewart et Lana Turner
De gauche à droite: Photos gracieuseté de Jeffrey Stewart et Lana Turner

Les conférences distinguées Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe en histoire urbaine

Lorsque le philosophe Alain Leroy Locke a édité le numéro Harlem du Graphique de l'enquête apparu le 1er mars 1925, il insuffla à l'éveil littéraire des années 1920 maintenant appelé la Renaissance de Harlem une philosophie de l'émancipation qui était une révolution tranquille en pensant à ce que signifiait être «aframerican», comme il le disait. Cette révolution tranquille ne serait pas réalisée par la politique ou la religion, mais par une philosophie selon laquelle l'art incarnait notre capacité à changer, à grandir et à nous régénérer à travers l'art et à devenir un nouveau peuple. Dans une présentation d'ouverture basée sur son prix Pulitzer et sa biographie primée au National Book Award Le nouveau nègre: la vie d'Alain Locke, historien Jeffrey C. Stewart expliquera cette philosophie et montrera comment Locke l'a mise en pratique, suivie d'une conversation avec l'intellectuel de style Harlem Lana Turner

Ceci est le premier événement de notre Revisiter la Renaissance de Harlem séries. Pour afficher tous les événements de cette série, cliquez sur ici

À propos des conférenciers:
Lana Turner, originaire de Harlem à New York, est un lecteur, écrivain, penseur et chercheur avec un vif intérêt pour les éléments de l'art et du style dans la culture noire et pourquoi cette méditation est importante. Turner travaille comme professionnel de l'immobilier, archiviste et produit des salons de musique de chambre et des événements littéraires. Elle est co-fondatrice et présidente de The Literary Society (1982), un groupe de discussion sur les livres de New York basé à Harlem.

Dr Jeffrey C. Stewart est professeur au Département des études sur les Noirs de l'Université de Californie à Santa Barbara. Auparavant, il était directeur de recherche au musée Anacostia de la Smithsonian Institution, conservateur invité à la Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery et conseiller principal du Reginald Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture à Baltimore, Maryland. Auteur de nombreux articles, essais et livres, Stewart a enseigné à l'Université de Harvard, à l'Université de Yale, à l'UCLA, à l'Université Tufts, à l'Université Howard, au Scripps College et à l'Université George Mason avant de rejoindre l'Université de Californie à Santa Barbara en tant que professeur et président. du Département des études sur les noirs de 2008 à 2016. Son livre, Le nouveau nègre: la vie d'Alain Locke a été publié en 2018 par Oxford University Press et a remporté le National Book Award in Nonfiction 2018, le prix James A. Rawley 2019 de l'Organisation des historiens américains, le prix d'histoire Mark Lynton 2019 de la Nieman Foundation et la Columbia School of Journalism, le 2019 American Book Award et le prix Pulitzer 2019 pour la biographie. Stewart est également l'éditeur du prochain livre La nouvelle esthétique noire: certains écrits par Alain Locke.

Supporters

Ce programme est rendu possible par Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Revisiting the Harlem Renaissance: Art is Philosophy

When: Thursday, April 22, 2021, 5:30pm
Price: Single Session: $15 & up | Entire Series: $55 & up
Jeffrey Stewart and Lana Turner
From left to right: Photos courtesy of Jeffrey Stewart and Lana Turner

The Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History

When the philosopher Alain Leroy Locke edited the Harlem issue of the Survey Graphic that appeared on March 1, 1925, he infused the literary awakening of the 1920s now called the Harlem Renaissance with a philosophy of emancipation that was a quiet revolution in thinking about what it meant to be "Aframerican," as he put it.  This quiet revolution would not be achieved through politics or religion, but through a philosophy that art embodied our ability to change, to grow, and to regenerate ourselves through art and become a new people.  In an opening presentation based on his Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biography, The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke, historian Jeffrey C. Stewart will explain this philosophy and show how Locke put it into practice, followed by a conversation with Harlem style intellectual Lana Turner

This is the first event in our Revisiting the Harlem Renaissance series. To view all events in this series, click here

About the Speakers:
Lana Turner, a native of New York’s Harlem, is a reader, writer, thinker and researcher with a keen interest in the elements of art and style in black culture and why this meditation matters. Turner works as a real estate professional, archivist, and produces chamber music salons and literary events. She is co-founder and chair of The Literary Society (1982), a New York City book discussion group based in Harlem.

Dr. Jeffrey C. Stewart is a professor in the Department of Black Studies at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Previously, he was director of research at the Smithsonian Institution's Anacostia Museum, a guest curator at the Smithsonian's National Portrait Gallery, and a senior advisor to the Reginald Lewis Museum of African American History and Culture in Baltimore, Maryland. The author of numerous articles, essays, and books, Stewart has taught at Harvard University, Yale University, UCLA, Tufts University, Howard University, Scripps College, and George Mason University before coming to the University of California, Santa Barbara as professor and chair of the Department of Black Studies from 2008-2016. His book, The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke was published in 2018 by Oxford University Press and has won the 2018 National Book Award in Nonfiction, the 2019 James A. Rawley Prize of the Organization of American Historians, 2019 Mark Lynton History Prize of the Nieman Foundation and Columbia School of Journalism, the 2019 American Book Award, and the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Biography.

Individual Sessions:
$25 general admission
$20 seniors, students, educators
$15 Members

Join us for all four sessions, or purchase individual session tickets. Please note that each event will run approximately 75 minutes.

Members, sign in to receive your discount at check out. Please email programs@mcny.org with any questions.

Accessibility: Closed captions will be available for this program. Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

This program is made possible by Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?