REMPLACÉ: Brooklyn et au-delà: les photographies d'Alex Webb et de Rebecca Norris Webb

Quand : Vendredi mars 19, 2021, 6: 00pm
Prix: Inscription préalable gratuite
Photographie de la pente du parc
Alex Webb, Park Slope, 2018, Impression de développement chromogénique, Gracieuseté de l'artiste

Veuillez noter que ce programme a été reporté au 19 mars 2021. 

Rejoignez les photographes Alex Webb pour Rebecca Norris Webb pour une présentation de leur travail suivie d'une séance de questions-réponses 

Alex Webb a cherché à sonder Brooklyn en mettant l'accent sur l'exploration de sa formidable diversité culturelle, du Brooklyn mexicain et caribéen au Brooklyn chinois. En revanche, Rebecca Norris Webb a photographié le cœur vert de Brooklyn, ses parcs et jardins, comme le noyau contemplatif de cette œuvre. Grâce au travail d'Alex Webb et de Rebecca Norris Webb, nous arrivons à voir la beauté complexe de l'arrondissement: ses habitants, son paysage urbain et ses espaces verts verdoyants.

Signature du livre de Brooklyn: The City Within (Aperture, 2019) et réception à suivre!

Ce programme est présenté conjointement avec notre exposition La ville intérieure: photographies de Brooklyn par Alex Webb et Rebecca Norris Webb (ouvre le 11,2020 mars XNUMX).

À propos des conférenciers:
Alex Webb a publié plus de quinze livres dont Brooklyn, la ville intérieure (Aperture, 2019, avec Rebecca Norris Webb) et La Calle: photographies du Mexique (Aperture, 2016), ainsi qu'une enquête sur son travail de couleur, La souffrance de la lumière (Aperture, 2011). Webb est devenu membre à part entière de Magnum Photos en 1979. Son travail a été largement diffusé et il a reçu de nombreux prix, dont une bourse Guggenheim en 2007. Ses photographies ont été publiées dans Le new york Times Magazinenational Geographic  GEO, entre autres publications.

Rebecca Norris Webb, à l'origine poète, explore souvent la relation compliquée entre les gens et le monde naturel dans ses sept livres, dont Le verre entre nous (Channel Photographics, 2006), Violet Isle: un duo de photographies de Cuba (Radius Books, 2009, avec Alex Webb), et Mon Dakota (Radius Books, 2012). Récipiendaire d'une bourse NEA 2019, elle a exposé au Museum of Fine Arts de Boston et au Cleveland Museum of Art, entre autres musées. Son travail est apparu dans La  New YorkerNew York Times Magazinenational Geographic  Magazine Le Monde. Une exposition de Brooklyn: la ville intérieure ouvrira ses portes au Musée de la ville de New York le 11 mars 2020 et se poursuivra jusqu'à l'automne 2020.

Gratuit, préinscription obligatoire. Veuillez noter que si vous vous êtes inscrit à l'atelier du week-end, "Atelier Trouver votre vision avec Alex Webb et Rebecca Norris Webb, "votre nom sera automatiquement ajouté à la liste.

Accessibilité: Des appareils d'aide à l'écoute sont disponibles et notre monte-charge pour auditorium peut accueillir des fauteuils roulants manuels et motorisés (capacité maximale 500 lb). Veuillez contacter le Musée au 917.492.3333 ou info@mcny.org et posez nous toutes les questions.

Partisans

La ville intérieure est rendue possible en partie par Cherylyn et Chris Ahrens, Bill et Victoria Cherry, Susan Griffith et David Neill, William et Elizabeth Kahane, Marina et Andrew Lewin, Jennifer et Andrew Marrus, et Ann G. Tenenbaum et Thomas H. Lee.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

RESCHEDULED: Brooklyn & Beyond: The Photographs of Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb

When: Friday, March 19, 6:00pm – 7:30pm
Price: Free, pre-registration required
Park Slope photograph
Alex Webb, Park Slope, 2018, Chromogenic development print, Courtesy of the artist

Please note that this program has been rescheduled to March 19, 2021. 

Join photographers Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb for a talk about their work followed by a Q & A. 

Alex Webb has sought to canvass Brooklyn with an emphasis on exploring its tremendous cultural diversity, from Mexican and Caribbean Brooklyn to Chinese Brooklyn. By contrast, Rebecca Norris Webb has photographed the green heart of Brooklyn, its parks and gardens, as the contemplative core for this body of work. Through the work of Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb we come to see the complex beauty of the borough—its people, its urban landscape, and its verdant green spaces.

Book signing of Brooklyn: The City Within (Aperture, 2019) and reception to follow!

This program is presented in conjunction with our exhibition The City Within: Brooklyn Photographs by Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb (opens March 11,2020).

About the Speakers:
Alex Webb has published more than fifteen books including Brooklyn, The City Within (Aperture, 2019, with Rebecca Norris Webb) and La Calle: Photographs from Mexico (Aperture, 2016), as well as a survey of his color work, The Suffering of Light (Aperture, 2011). Webb became a full member of Magnum Photos in 1979. His work has been shown widely and he has received numerous awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2007. His photographs have appeared in The New York Times MagazineNational Geographic, and GEO, among other publications.

Rebecca Norris Webb, originally a poet, often explores the complicated relationship between people and the natural world in her seven books, including The Glass Between Us (Channel Photographics, 2006), Violet Isle: A Duet of Photographs from Cuba (Radius Books, 2009, with Alex Webb), and My Dakota (Radius Books, 2012). A 2019 NEA grant recipient, she has exhibited at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston and the Cleveland Museum of Art, among other museums. Her work has appeared in The New YorkerNew York Times MagazineNational Geographic, and Le Monde Magazine. An exhibition of Brooklyn: The City Within will open at the Museum of the City of New York on March 11, 2020, and run through Fall 2020.

Free, preregistration required. Please note that you if have registered for the weekend workshop, "Finding Your Vision Workshop with Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb," your name will automatically be added to the list.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

The City Within is made possible in part by Cherylyn and Chris Ahrens, Bill and Victoria Cherry, Susan Griffith and David Neill, William and Elizabeth Kahane, Marina and Andrew Lewin, Jennifer and Andrew Marrus, and Ann G. Tenenbaum and Thomas H. Lee.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?