I Too Am America : sur l'amour et la direction d'hommes et de garçons noirs

Quand : Mercredi, Juin 8, 2022, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

Couverture du livre I Too Am America: Aimer et diriger les hommes et les garçons noirs
Avec l'aimable autorisation de Shawn Dove et Nick Chiles

Rejoindre les auteurs Shawn Colombe et des tours Nick Chiles pour une célébration d'histoires d'amour, d'apprentissage et de leadership pour et par des hommes et des garçons noirs, y compris une lecture spéciale et une conversation autour de leur livre acclamé, I Too Am America : sur l'amour et la direction d'hommes et de garçons noirs

Discours d'ouverture du chancelier des écoles de la ville de New York (et ancien président et chef de la direction de la Eagle Academy Foundation) David C. Banks, ce programme est organisé en tant que précurseur du tout premier programme du Musée Semaine de la liberté : un voyage dans l'art et l'activisme. Les invités spéciaux supplémentaires incluent :

  • Révérende Dr Emma Jordan-SimpsonMoi aussi je suis l'Amérique Contributeur et président du séminaire d'Auburn
  • Révérend Dr Alfonso WyattMoi aussi je suis l'Amérique Contributeur et fondateur de Strategic Destiny LLC
  • Harry A. Johnson, Jr., Co-fondateur et directeur exécutif, Brothers@
  • Dariel Vasquez, Co-fondateur et directeur exécutif, Brothers@
  • Nikaï Santiago, Rising Junior à l'Université Saint-Bonaventure, Brothers @ Ambassador
  • Élie Grâce, Rising High School Senior, Brothers @ The Fellowship Initiative Participant

Ce programme se déroulera à l'intérieur du Ronay Menschel Hall (rez-de-chaussée). Il y aura un bar payant et des livres seront disponibles à la vente.

Sorti le 6 janvier 2022, I Too Am America : sur l'amour et la direction d'hommes et de garçons noirs est à la fois mémoire et récit historique du mouvement Black Male Achievement, et explore le paradoxe de la promesse et du péril auxquels sont confrontés les hommes et les garçons noirs d'aujourd'hui. Combinant un récit personnel puissant avec de courts essais de leaders noirs renommés dans les domaines de la philanthropie, de la justice raciale, de l'éducation, de la politique et plus encore, Moi aussi je suis l'Amérique fournit des informations et une inspiration opportunes qui humanisent les histoires d'hommes et de garçons noirs, tout en offrant des recommandations stratégiques sur la façon dont, ensemble, nous pouvons surmonter les grondements actuels avec le calcul racial de l'Amérique pour aimer, apprendre et diriger avec et au nom des hommes et des garçons noirs. I Too Am America : sur l'amour et la direction d'hommes et de garçons noirs est maintenant en vente chez tous les grands détaillants de livres - y compris Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Bonnes lectures et Librairie.

À propos des conférenciers:
David C. Banks est chancelier du Département de l'éducation de la ville de New York, le plus grand système scolaire du pays. Nommé le 1er janvier 2022, il est l'ancien président et chef de la direction de l'Eagle Academy Foundation et le directeur fondateur de l'Eagle Academy for Young Men, la première école d'un réseau d'écoles publiques innovantes réservées aux garçons à New York et Newark, New Jersey

Nick Chiles s'est distingué à la fois en tant qu'auteur à succès et primé journaliste. Ses derniers livres sont un guide d'auto-assistance spirituellement stimulant avec le pasteur du met en vedette le révérend Tim Storey, appelé The Miracle Mentality : comment puiser dans la source de la magie Transformation dans votre vie; et une histoire inspirante de la relation de longue date d'un jeune garçon blanc avec d'anciens ligueurs noirs, appelée Saison de retour: mon histoire improbable d'amitié avec les plus grands joueurs de baseball de la Ligue noire vivants (avec préface de Hank Aaron).

Shawn Colombe est le fondateur de la Corporation for Black Male Achievement et est associé directeur de New Profit, une société de philanthropie à risque qui investit dans des entrepreneurs sociaux révolutionnaires qui font progresser des stratégies qui luttent contre l'injustice systémique à l'échelle nationale. Auparavant, Dove a été PDG de la Campaign for Black Male Achievement (CBMA), directrice de programme du centre communautaire Countee Cullen de Harlem Children's Zone et vice-présidente de MENTOR/National Mentoring Partnership.

Harry A. Johnson Jr. est analyste commercial chez McKinsey & Co. Il a précédemment occupé le poste de co-directeur exécutif de Brothers@. En tant que co-fondateur du programme, Harry a joué un rôle déterminant dans l'augmentation de l'impact du programme et dans l'augmentation de sa durabilité lors de sa transition d'une initiative dirigée par des étudiants à un engagement institutionnel au Bard College. Il était également membre de la Fondation Thomas J. Watson. Harry est diplômé du Bard College avec un BA en sociologie. Il siège au conseil d'administration de Brothers@.

Rév. Dr Emma Jordan Simpson, est le président d'Auburn Theological Seminary, un institut de recherche et de développement du leadership qui « dote les dirigeants des compétences organisationnelles et de la résilience spirituelle nécessaires pour créer un impact durable et positif dans les communautés locales, sur la scène nationale et dans le monde entier ». Avant Auburn, elle était directrice exécutive de la Fellowship of Reconciliation et a dirigé le Children's Defence Fund-New York, Girls Inc. of NYC, Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families et la Bedford Stuyvesant Restoration Corporation.

Dariel Vasquez est un diplômé universitaire de première génération de Harlem, NY. Dariel est diplômé du Bard College en 2017 avec un diplôme conjoint en histoire et sociologie, et une concentration en études africaines. Dariel a créé le groupe de soutien Brothers At Bard (BAB) avec l'aide de ses pairs, jetant ainsi les bases du travail que l'organisation accomplit aujourd'hui. En tant que l'un des co-fondateurs de Brothers@, Dariel a aidé à collecter plus d'un million de dollars au cours des trois dernières années pour étendre l'organisation à travers l'État de New York.

Révérend Dr Alfonso Wyatt a pris sa retraite en tant que vice-président du Fonds pour la ville de New York après avoir servi plus de deux décennies. Il est le fondateur de Strategic Destiny: Designing Futures Through Faith and Facts, une organisation qui cherche à trouver un langage commun et des opportunités de collaboration entre des praticiens socialement engagés motivés par la foi et des praticiens laïcs motivés par un apprentissage fondé sur des preuves.

Logistique événementielle (sous réserve de modifications en fonction des réglementations de New York):

  • Une preuve de vaccination est requise pour l'entrée à l'événement (toute personne âgée de plus de 5 ans). L'Excelsior Pass est accepté pour ceux qui ont été vaccinés à NYS. 
  • Des masques seront requis.
  • Veuillez contacter programmes@mcny.org pour toute question ou problème de billetterie.

 

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

I Too Am America: On Loving and Leading Black Men & Boys

When: Wednesday, June 8, 2022, 6:30pm
Price: Free! Registration required.
I Too Am America: On Loving and Leading Black Men & Boys book cover
Courtesy of Shawn Doves and Nick Chiles

Join authors Shawn Dove and Nick Chiles for a celebration of stories of loving, learning and leading for and by Black men and boys, including a special reading and conversation around their acclaimed book, I Too Am America: On Loving and Leading Black Men & Boys

Featuring opening remarks from New York City Schools Chancellor (and former Eagle Academy Foundation President and CEO) David C. Banks, this program is being hosted as a precursor to the Museum's first-ever Freedom Week: A Journey into Art & Activism. Additional special guests include:

  • Reverend Dr. Emma Jordan-SimpsonI Too Am America Contributor, and President of Auburn Seminary
  • Reverend Dr. Alfonso WyattI Too Am America Contributor, and Founder of Strategic Destiny LLC
  • Harry A. Johnson, Jr., Co-Founder and Executive Director, Brothers@
  • Dariel Vasquez, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Brothers@
  • Nikai Santiago, Rising Junior at St. Bonaventure University, Brothers@ Ambassador
  • Elijah Grace, Rising High School Senior, Brothers@ The Fellowship Initiative Participant

This program will take place indoors in Ronay Menschel Hall (Ground Floor). Books will be available for sale.

Released on January 6, 2022, I Too Am America: On Loving and Leading Black Men & Boys is equal parts memoir and historical telling of the Black Male Achievement movement, and explores the paradox of promise and peril facing today’s Black men and boys. Combining powerful personal narrative with short essays by renowned Black leaders in philanthropy, racial justice, education, policy and more, I Too Am America delivers timely insights and inspiration that humanizes the stories of Black men and boys, while offering strategic recommendations on how, together, we can overcome current rumblings with America’s racial reckoning to loving, learning and leading with and on behalf of Black men and boys. I Too Am America: On Loving and Leading Black Men & Boys is now on sale at all major book retailers - including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Good Reads, and Bookshop.

About the Speakers:
David C. Banks is Chancellor of the New York City Department of Education, the largest school system in the nation. Appointed on January 1, 2022, he is the former President and CEO of the Eagle Academy Foundation, and the founding principal of The Eagle Academy for Young Men, the first school in a network of innovative all-boys public schools in New York City and Newark, N.J.

Nick Chiles has distinguished himself as both a bestselling author and an award-winning journalist. His latest books are a spiritually empowering self-help guide with pastor to the stars Rev. Tim Storey, called The Miracle Mentality: How to Tap into the Source of Magical Transformation in Your Life; and an inspiring tale of a young white boy’s life-long relationship with former Negro Leaguers, called Comeback Season: My Unlikely Story of Friendship with the Greatest Living Negro League Baseball Players (with foreword by Hank Aaron).

Shawn Dove is founder of the Corporation for Black Male Achievement, and serves as Managing Partner for New Profit, a venture philanthropy firm that invests in breakthrough social entrepreneurs advancing strategies that address systemic injustice nationwide. Previously Dove served as CEO of the Campaign for Black Male Achievement (CBMA), Program Director of the Harlem Children's Zone's Countee Cullen Community Center, and Vice President of MENTOR/National Mentoring Partnership.

Harry A. Johnson Jr. is a Business Analyst at McKinsey & Co. He served previously as Co-Executive Director of Brothers@. As the program’s co-founder, Harry was instrumental in scaling the program's impact and increasing sustainability during its transition from a student-led initiative to an institutional commitment at Bard College. He was also a Thomas J. Watson Foundation Fellow. Harry is a graduate of Bard College with a BA in Sociology. He serves on the board of advisors of Brothers@.

Rev. Dr. Emma Jordan Simpson, is the President of Auburn Theological Seminary, a leadership development and research institute that “equips leaders with the organizational skills and spiritual resilience required to create lasting, positive impact in local communities, on the national stage, and around the world.” Prior to Auburn, she was the Executive Director of the Fellowship of Reconciliation and has provided leadership for the Children’s Defense Fund-New York, Girls Inc. of NYC, Edwin Gould Services for Children and Families, and the Bedford Stuyvesant Restoration Corporation.

Dariel Vasquez is a first-generation college graduate from Harlem, NY. Dariel graduated from Bard College in 2017 with a joint degree in History and Sociology, and a concentration in Africana-Studies. Dariel created the Brothers At Bard (BAB) support group with the help of his peers—laying the foundation for the work the organization does today. As one of the Brothers@ co-founders, Dariel helped raise over a million dollars over the last three years to expand the organization across NY State.

Rev. Dr. Alfonso Wyatt retired as vice president of the Fund for the City of New York after serving over two decades. He is founder of Strategic Destiny: Designing Futures Through Faith and Facts, an organization that seeks to find common language and opportunities for collaboration between socially engaged practitioners motivated by faith and secular practitioners motivated by evidence-based learning.

Event Logistics (subject to changed based on NYC regulations):

  • Proof of vaccination is required for entry to the event (everyone over the age of 5). Excelsior Pass is accepted for those who were vaccinated in NYS. 
  • Masks will be required.
  • Please contact programs@mcny.org with any questions or ticketing issues.

 

Free! Registration required.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?