Événement passé: Découvrir les vies perdues des travailleurs: l'archéologie du travail

Quand : Mercredi 8 mai 2019, 6h30

Cet événement est passé.

Union Square [Construction du téléphérique de Broadway, 1891.] CC Langill, 1891. Musée de la ville de New York, 32.332.9.

Le New York que nous connaissons aujourd'hui a été profondément façonné par les travailleurs. Non seulement les ouvriers ont construit et entretenu la ville physique, mais leur les luttes pour le salaire, le pouvoir et l'inclusion ont fait et refait la ville à maintes reprises et, ce faisant, ont laissé un dossier physique aux archéologues pour devoiler. Inspiré par notre exposition, City of Workers, City of Struggle: comment les mouvements ouvriers ont changé New York (ouvre le 1er mai 2019), rejoignez les archéologues la Dre Méta Janowitz, Dr Jean Howson et Alanna Warner Smith comme ils partager leurs dernières résultats à propos Conditions de travail et de vie à New York du XVIIIe au début du XXe siècle et examiner l'impact durable du travail sur le corps des travailleurs, hommes et femmes. Modéré par Sharon Wilkins, Historien adjoint du quartier de Manhattan. 

Il s'agit de notre 39e programme annuel présenté en partenariat avec Archéologues professionnels de New York.

À propos des conférenciers:
Dr Jean Howson mène des recherches archéologiques urbaines à New York, au New Jersey et dans le Connecticut depuis 35 ans. Elle a été archéologue au sein de la Commission de préservation des monuments, directrice associée de l'archéologie pour le projet African Burial Ground, et consulte actuellement sur des projets pour les agences municipales et d'État.

Dr Meta Janowitz est un archéologue et historien de la céramique, spécialisé dans l'étude de la poterie réalisée dans la région métropolitaine aux XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Semi-retraitée de l'équipe de gestion des ressources culturelles d'AECOM, une grande firme d'ingénierie, elle enseigne à la School of Visual Arts de New York.

Alanna Warner Smith est un bioarchéologue historique et un chercheur diplômé de la National Science Foundation. Sa recherche doctorale explore la citoyenneté et le travail au 19e siècle en examinant les restes squelettiques d'immigrants irlandais décédés à New York entre 1893 et ​​1921. Elle a également mené des travaux sur le terrain en Turquie, au Pérou, au Guatemala et dans les Caraïbes.

Sharon Wilkins (modératrice) est l'historien adjoint du quartier de Manhattan. Elle est également membre du comité exécutif de la Harlem African Burial Ground Task Force, fondée en 2009 pour récupérer, préserver et reconnaître un cimetière isolé datant de 1660 à First Avenue et 126th Rue à Harlem.

À propos des archéologues professionnels de New York:
Les archéologues professionnels de New York City, Inc. (PANYC) est une organisation à but non lucratif d'archéologues professionnels locaux soucieux de préserver et de protéger les ressources archéologiques et historiques de New York et d'éduquer le public sur notre patrimoine culturel.

Supporters

Ville d'ouvriers, Ville de lutte est présenté en collaboration avec le Centre Kheel à l'École des relations industrielles et du travail de l'Université Cornell et le Bibliothèque Tamiment et Archives du travail Robert F. Wagner à NYU.

Ville d'ouvriers, Ville de lutte et ses programmes associés sont rendus possibles par The Puffin Foundation, Ltd. 

Partenaires

Ce programme est co-présenté avec Archéologues professionnels de New York.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Uncovering the Lost Lives of Workers: The Archaeology of Labor

When: Wednesday, May 8, 6:30pm – 8:00pm
Price: $12 & up | $10 for Museum and PANYC Members
Hughson Hawley, "Broadway and 14th Street," c. 1891. Museum of the City of New York, 42.323.104

The New York we know today was profoundly shaped by workers. Not only did workers build and maintain the physical city, but their struggles over pay, power, and inclusion have made and remade the city many times over and, in the process, left a physical record for archaeologists to uncover. Inspired by our exhibition, City of Workers, City of Struggle: How Labor Movements Changed New York (opens May 1, 2019), join archaeologists Dr. Meta Janowitz, Dr. Jean Howson, and Alanna Warner-Smith as they share their latest findings about New York City’s working and living conditions from the 18th to the early 20th centuries and consider the lasting impact of labor on workers’ bodies, both female and male. Moderated by Sharon Wilkins, Deputy Borough Historian of Manhattan. 

This is our 39th annual program presented in partnership with Professional Archaeologists of New York City.

About the Speakers:
Dr. Jean Howson has conducted urban archaeological research in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut for 35 years. She served as Staff Archaeologist at the Landmarks Preservation Commission, Associate Director for Archaeology for the African Burial Ground Project, and currently consults on projects for city and state agencies.

Dr. Meta Janowitz is an archaeologist and ceramic historian, specializing in the study of pottery made in the metropolitan area during the 18th and 19th centuries. Semi-retired from the Cultural Resource Management crew at AECOM, a large engineering firm, she teaches at the School of Visual Arts in New York City.

Alanna Warner-Smith is a historical bioarchaeologist and National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellow. Her doctoral research explores citizenship and labor during the 19th century by examining the skeletal remains of Irish immigrants who died in New York City between 1893 and 1921. She has also conducted fieldwork in Turkey, Peru, Guatemala, and throughout the Caribbean.

Sharon Wilkins (moderator) is the Deputy Borough Historian of Manhattan. She is also a member of the Executive Committee of the Harlem African Burial Ground Task Force, founded in 2009 to reclaim, preserve, and recognize a segregated cemetery dating back to 1660 at First Avenue and 126th Street in Harlem.

About Professional Archaeologists of New York City:
Professional Archaeologists of New York City, Inc. (PANYC) is a non-profit organization of local professional archaeologists concerned with preserving and protecting the archaeological and historical resources of New York City and educating the public about our cultural heritage.

$15 for Adults | $12 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum and PANYC Members
Includes Museum admission. 
Note: All galleries close at 6:00 pm.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Our Supporters and Partners

City of Workers, City of Struggle is presented in collaboration with the Kheel Center at the School of Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University and the Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives at NYU.

City of Workers, City of Struggle and its associated programs are made possible by The Puffin Foundation, Ltd. 


This program is co-presented with Professional Archaeologists of New York City.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?