Événement passé: Une soirée avec Colson Whitehead

Quand : Mardi, mars 5, 2019, 7: 00pm

Cet événement est passé.

Colson Whitehead, image de Madeline Whitehead

Veuillez noter que ce programme est maintenant épuisé. Il y aura une liste d'attente à partir de 6h30 le soir du programme. Tout siège supplémentaire sera libéré à 7 h 05 dans l'ordre dans lequel les noms ont été reçus. Vous devez être physiquement présent lorsque votre nom est appelé ou votre place sera perdue. Nous ne garantissons pas que des sièges deviendront disponibles. Les retardataires peuvent être assis dans un théâtre à débordement. 

Conférence distinguée Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe en histoire urbaine | Printemps 2019

«Parler de New York est une façon de parler du monde», a déclaré l'auteur lauréat du prix Pulitzer Colson Whitehead écrit dans Le colosse de New York (2004). L'un des écrivains les plus imprévisibles d'aujourd'hui, le travail de Whitehead sillonne les genres de son premier roman, L'intuitioniste (1999), une histoire de détective noir, au thriller zombie Zone un (2011) et, plus récemment, Le chemin de fer clandestin (2016). Pourtant, il revient encore et encore à New York, sa ville natale, comme une ancre pour se débattre avec des questions universelles et des thèmes intemporels. Dans le cadre de nos conférences annuelles Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History, Whitehead discutera de son engagement profond avec l'histoire de New York dans ses romans et non-fiction. Après son discours, il sera rejoint dans la conversation par L'Atlantique Hannah Giorgis

Réception et signature du livre à suivre. 

Ce programme fait partie de notre programme annuel Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History série, dans laquelle les principaux observateurs appliquent des connaissances de disciplines telles que l'histoire, l'archéologie, la sociologie et l'architecture pour examiner l'évolution des cinq arrondissements de New York.  

À propos du président:
Colson Whitehead
est le #1   auteur du best-seller Le chemin de fer clandestin, qui a remporté le prix Pulitzer de fiction 2016, le National Book Award, et a été nommé l'un des dix meilleurs livres de l'année par La critique de livre du New York Times. Ses autres œuvres notables comprennent La Noble Hustle, Zone un, Sag Harbor, L'intuitioniste, Journées John Henry, Apex cache la blessureet Le colosse de New York. Il est également récipiendaire des bourses MacArthur et Guggenheim. Les critiques, les essais et la fiction de Whitehead ont paru dans un certain nombre de publications, notamment The New Yorker et des Harper.

Hannah Giorgis est rédacteur à The Atlantic, où elle couvre la culture. Ses essais et rapports ont été publiés dans des publications, notamment: The New York Times magazine, New Yorker, Le FADER, Bon Appétitet Fourche à foin. Elle a écrit des nouvelles pour le Sourcils levés journal littéraire, Spook magazine, et le prochain Addis Abeba Noir anthologie, et travaille actuellement sur son premier roman.

Nos partisans

Ce programme est rendu possible par Robert A. et Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: An Evening with Colson Whitehead

When: Tuesday, March 5, 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Price: $30 & up | $25 for Museum Members
Colson Whitehead, image by Madeline Whitehead

Please note that this program is now sold out. There will be a wait list starting at 6:30 pm on the night of the program. Any additional seats will be released at 7:05 pm in the order the names were received. You must be physically present when your name is called or your place will be forfeited. We do not guarantee that any seats will become available. Latecomers may be seated in an overflow theater. 

The Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe Distinguished Lecture in Urban History | Spring 2019

“Talking about New York is a way of talking about the world,” Pulitzer Prize-winning author Colson Whitehead writes in The Colossus of New York (2004). One of today’s most unpredictable writers, Whitehead’s work crisscrosses genres from his debut novel, The Intuitionist (1999), a noir detective story, to zombie thriller Zone One (2011) and, most recently, The Underground Railroad (2016). Still, he returns again and again to New York, his native city, as an anchor to grapple with universal questions and timeless themes. As part of our annual Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History, Whitehead will discuss his deep engagement with the history of New York City in his novels and non-fiction. After his talk, he will be joined in conversation by The Atlantic's Hannah Giorgis

Reception and book signing to follow. 

This program is part of our annual Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe Distinguished Lectures in Urban History series, in which leading observers apply insights from disciplines including history, archaeology, sociology, and architecture to examine the evolution of New York City's five boroughs.  

About the Speaker:
Colson Whitehead
is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Underground Railroad, which won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction, the National Book Award, and was named one of the Ten Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review. His other notable works include The Noble Hustle, Zone One, Sag Harbor, The Intuitionist, John Henry Days, Apex Hides the Hurt, and The Colossus of New York. He is also a recipient of the MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowships. Whitehead's reviews, essays, and fiction have appeared in a number of publications, including The New Yorker and Harper's.

Hannah Giorgis is a staff writer at The Atlantic, where she covers culture. Her essays and reporting have appeared in publications including The New York Times magazine, New Yorker, The FADER, Bon Appétit, and Pitchfork. She has written short stories for the Lifted Brow literary journal, Spook magazine, and the forthcoming Addis Ababa Noir anthology, and is currently working on her first novel.

$35 Adults | $30 Students, Seniors, and Educators (with ID) | $25 Museum Members
Includes Museum admission. Note: New York at Its Core will be open for additional viewing from 6:00-7:00 pm to all event ticket holders. All other galleries will close at 6:00 pm.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Our Supporters

This program is made possible by Robert A. and Elizabeth R. Jeffe.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?