2020 Louis Auchincloss Prize

When: Thursday, November 19, 2020, 6:30pm

This event has passed.

On November 19th, we were pleased to present Toshiko Mori with the 2020 Louis Auchincloss Prize and celebrate her architectural contributions to New York City's cultural, art, and educational centers.

Award presentation by Joan Davidson followed by Toshiko in conversation with Paola Antonelli providing amazing insight into Toshiko’s breathtaking work.



Toshiko Mori, FAIA is the founding principal of Toshiko Mori Architect PLLC, and the Robert P. Hubbard Professor in the Practice of Architecture at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD), where she served as chair of the Department of Architecture from 2002 to 2008. She was inducted to the Academy of Arts and Letters in 2020 and has been a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences since 2016. 

Mori’s recent awards and honors include the Tau Sigma Delta National Honor Society Gold Medal in 2016; Architectural Record’s Women in Design Leader Award in 2019; and the AIA / ASCA Topaz Medallion for Excellence in Architectural Education in 2019. Nikkei Business recently listed Mori as one of 50 Japanese People Changing the World, and Newsweek Japan listed her as one of 100 Japanese People the World Respects. Her project “Thread: Artists’ Residency and Cultural Center” was awarded the AIA 2017 Institute Honor Award for Architecture and was one of the winners of the inaugural FIBRA Award for Contemporary Plant Fiber-based Architecture in 2019. This year, she published two new monographs, one with a+u magazine for their February 2020 issue and another with ArchiTangle titled “Toshiko Mori Architect: Observations.” In May, her project “Fass School and Teachers’ Residence” was featured by The Guardian as one of the world’s top 10 new architecture projects.

Toshiko Mori Architect Logo



The Louis Auchincloss Prize is presented to writers and artists whose work is inspired by and enhances the five boroughs of New York City. Disciplines include literature, architecture, art, music, playwriting, and photography. The Prize honors Louis Auchincloss (1917-2010) for his many years of service to the Museum of the City of New York as well as for his literary contributions that established him as one of the leading American novelists of the 20th and 21st centuries. Louis Auchincloss accepted the first Prize himself in 2007.

Distinguished Past Louis Auchincloss Prize Recipients
Robert A.M. Stern ● Jason Robert Brown ● Gloria Steinem ● Whoopi Goldberg ● Michiko Kakutani ● Tony Kushner ● Wynton Marsalis ● Philip Glass ● Stephen Sondheim ● Lynne Meadow ● Elliott Erwitt ● Pete Hamill ● Sheldon Harnick ● Ada Louise Huxtable ● Louis Auchincloss



For nearly a century, the Museum of the City of New York has served New Yorkers by collecting and sharing the stories of our great city and its people. Your support will ensure the Museum continues its legacy as the chronicler of New York’s history and makes possible so much good work, from content-rich exhibitions that celebrate and interpret the city, to the digitization of our collections, to field trips and out-of-school time programs that serve tens of thousands of public-school children each year.


Chair of the Louis Auchincloss Prize

Tracey Pontarelli

Elizabeth Graziolo/Yellow House Architects  ●  Newton P.S. and Polly Merrill  ●  Mitsui Fudosan America  ●  Tracey and Ken Pontarelli  ●  Mary Ann and Bruno A. Quinson  ●  Heather and William Vrattos

Betsy and Ed Cohen  ●  Todd DeGarmo/STUDIOS Architecture  ●  Ronay and Richard L. Menschel  ●  Daryl Brown Uber and Bruce Uber

Patricia and John R. Heller  ●  Patrick Whetzle/IA Construction Management

Martin J. McLaughlin  ●  Edward Miller  ●  Jane B. and Ralph A. O'Connell  ●  Sharon Prince/Grace Farms Foundation  ●  Valerie and John W. Rowe  ●  Nicholas Fox Weber/The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation

Donald Albrecht  ●  Anthony Alofsin  ●  Elizabeth Borden  ●  Lynne Brown  ●  James Carpenter  ●  Christina R. Davis  ● Tracy Ehrlich and Andrew Auchincloss. ●  Rosalie Genevro  ●  Kathleen Benson Haskins  ●  Elisa Holland  ●   Kristin Joyce-Guy  ●  Linda Just  ●  Thomas Krizmanic  ●  Brenda Levin  ●  Margo Levine  ●  Tracy Pennoyer and John W. Auchincloss  ●  Mary Ping  ●  Elisif and Timothy Quinson  ●  Bernard Stahl  ●  Philip Snyder. ●  Madelyn Wils


For more information, please contact:

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?