Événement passé: Jackie Robinson: le personnel et le politique

Quand : Mardi 14 mai 2019, 6h30

Cet événement est passé.

Frank Bauman pour le magazine Look, Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn Dodgers, 1949. Musée de la ville de New York. X2011.4.11814.80

Lors de son premier jour sur les Dodgers de Brooklyn en 1947, Jackie Robinson a changé l'histoire, ouvrant la voie non seulement à la déségrégation du sport, mais aussi le lancement de l'ère moderne des droits civiques. Joindre La fille de Robinson Sharon Robinson, Vice-président de la Fondation Jackie Robinson; Jonathan Eig, Auteur de Jour d'ouverture: L'histoire de la première saison de Jackie Robinson, et journaliste et auteur William C.Rhoden pour une conversation sur la diversité dans la pirogue et la carrière, la vie et l'héritage de Robinson. Animé par un journaliste Budd Michkin

Co-présenté avec La Fondation Jackie Robinson, cette conférence accompagne notre exposition, En pirogue avec Jackie Robinson: un portrait intime d'une légende du baseball. 

À propos des conférenciers:
Sharon Robinson est conseiller pédagogique pour la Ligue majeure de baseball et vice-président de la Fondation Jackie Robinson. Elle gère Breaking Barriers: In Sports, In Life, un programme d'éducation national sur le thème du baseball et est également l'auteur de nombreux ouvrages de fiction et de non-fiction pour enfants. Elle a écrit plusieurs livres très appréciés sur son père, dont son dernier roman, Le héros deux portes vers le bas: l'amitié improbable entre un garçon de Brooklyn et une légende du baseball. Robinson a eu une carrière de 20 ans en tant qu'infirmière sage-femme et éducatrice, enseignant à Yale, Columbia, Howard et Georgetown.

Jonathan Eig est un ancien écrivain spécial senior pour Le Wall Street Journal. Il est l'auteur de plusieurs livres, dont le best-seller très acclamé Jour d'ouverture: L'histoire de la première saison de Jackie RobinsonEig a également écrit pour Le New York TimesLe new yorker, et Washington Post, entre autres. Il 
est apparu sur Le Daily Show avec Jon Stewart, Fresh Air avec Terry Gross et dans deux documentaires de Ken Burns: Interdiction et Jackie Robinson

William C.Rhoden est un ancien journaliste de Le New York Times. Avant de rejoindre le Horaires chroniqueur sportif en 1983, Rhoden a travaillé pour des publications Baltimore Sun et Ebène. Son premier livre, Esclaves de quarante millions de dollars: la montée, la chute et le rachat de l'athlète noir a été publié en 2006 et son deuxième livre, Third and a Mile: les épreuves et le triomphe du quart-arrière noir a été publié en 2007.

Budd Mishkin (modérateur) a animé l'émission de longue date "One on 1 with Budd Mishkin" sur la chaîne de télévision NY1 (2003 à 2017) où il a présenté plus de 300 New-Yorkais influents ayant des liens personnels et professionnels importants avec la ville, notamment Anthony Bourdain, Gloria Steinem et Yoko Ono. Il a également été présentateur sportif / reporter pour l'émission nocturne de NY1 «Sports on 1, The Last Word», couvrant certains des plus grands événements de l'histoire récente du sport à New York. 

Supporters

Ce programme est rendu possible en partie par Jim Hanley et Taconic Builders. 

Partenaires

Ce programme est co-présenté avec le Fondation Jackie Robinson.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Jackie Robinson: The Personal and Political

When: Tuesday, May 14, 6:30pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Frank Bauman for Look magazine, Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn Dodgers, 1949. Museum of the City of New York. X2011.4.11814.80

On his first day on the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1947, Jackie Robinson changed history, paving the way not only for the desegregation of the sport but also the launch of the modern civil rights era. Join Robinson's daughter Sharon Robinson, Vice Chair of the Jackie Robinson Foundation; Jonathan Eig, author of Opening Day: The Story of Jackie Robinson’s First Season, and journalist and author William C. Rhoden for a conversation about diversity in the dugout and Robinson's career, life, and legacy. Moderated by journalist Budd Mishkin

Co-presented with The Jackie Robinson Foundation, this talk accompanies our exhibition, In the Dugout with Jackie Robinson: An Intimate Portrait of a Baseball Legend. 

About the Speakers:
Sharon Robinson is educational consultant for Major League Baseball and Vice Chair of the Jackie Robinson Foundation. She manages Breaking Barriers: In Sports, In Life, a baseball-themed national character education curriculum and is also the author of many works of fiction and nonfiction for children. She has written several widely praised books about her father, including her latest novel, The Hero Two Doors Down: The Unlikely Friendship between a Brooklyn Boy and a Baseball Legend. Robinson had a 20-year career as a nurse-midwife and educator, teaching at Yale, Columbia, Howard, and Georgetown.

Jonathan Eig is a former senior special writer for The Wall Street Journal. He is the author of several books, including the highly acclaimed bestseller Opening Day: The Story of Jackie Robinson’s First SeasonEig has also written for The New York TimesThe New Yorker, and The Washington Post, among others. He 
has appeared on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, Fresh Air with Terry Gross, and in two Ken Burns documentaries: Prohibition and Jackie Robinson

William C. Rhoden is a former journalist for The New York Times. Before joining the Times as a staff sports columnist in 1983, Rhoden worked at publications including the Baltimore Sun and Ebony.  His first book, Forty Million Dollar Slaves: The Rise, Fall, and Redemption of the Black Athlete was published in 2006 and his second book, Third and a Mile: The Trials and Triumph of the Black Quarterback was published in 2007.

Budd Mishkin (moderator) hosted the long-running show "One on 1 with Budd Mishkin" on the television network NY1 (2003 to 2017) where he profiled over 300 influential New Yorkers with significant personal and professional ties to the city including Anthony Bourdain, Gloria Steinem, and Yoko Ono. He has also served as a sports anchor/reporter for NY1’s nightly program “Sports on 1, The Last Word,” covering some of the biggest events in recent New York sports history. 

$20 Adults | $15 Students, Seniors, and Educators (with ID)
$10 Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

This program is made possible in part by Jim Hanley & Taconic Builders. 

Partners

This program is co-presented with the Jackie Robinson Foundation.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?