Symposium et déjeuner d'automne 2021

Quand : Mardi, Octobre 19, 2021, 11: 30am
Symposium et déjeuner d'automne

On Le mardi 19 octobre, le Musée de la ville de New York a de nouveau organisé son Symposium & Luncheon annuel. Chaque année depuis plus de deux décennies, le Symposium & Déjeuner a célébré les artistes et les designers qui ont fait de New York la capitale mondiale du design. Le Symposium a présenté des icônes du design telles que Cynthia Rowley, Peter Marino, Jacques Grange, Ralph Pucci, Jonathan Adler et Simon Doonan, entre autres. 

Dans l'esprit des artistes et designers de la ville de New York, le Symposium & Luncheon de cette année a réuni un panel d'experts en design qui ont discuté de la façon dont les rues et les personnages de la ville de New York fournissent une quantité infinie d'inspiration aux artistes et aux penseurs créatifs.

  • Doté d' Stellene Volandes, Rédacteur en chef de Town & Country
  • En conversation avec
    • Isaac Mizrahi, interprète, écrivain, concepteur et producteur
    • Clint Ramos, Designer primé et producteur créatif
    • Alex Vadukul, correspondant de la ville, The New York Times 


Calendrier des événements
     ● 11h30 - Réception Champagne
     ● 12h00 - Colloque
     ● 1h00 - Déjeuner

SUPPORT

Informations importantes pour les participants à l'événement
     ●  Une preuve de vaccination est requise pour l'entrée à l'événement pour toute personne de plus de 12 ans, alors s'il vous plaît planifier à l'avance ! Excelsior Pass est accepté pour ceux qui ont été vaccinés à NYS. 
     ●  Des masques seront requis à l'intérieur comme à l'extérieur, quel que soit le statut vaccinal.
     ●  Pour plus d'informations sur les lignes directrices COVID du Musée, veuillez consulter notre "Planifiez votre visite" page.


À PROPOS DE NOS CONFÉRENCIERS

Stellene Volandes

STELLENE VOLANDES
Stellene Volandes est la rédactrice en chef de Town & Country et la directrice éditoriale de Elle Decor. Elle est l'auteur de Bijoutier : Maîtres, non-conformistes et visionnaires du design moderne (2016) et Des bijoux qui ont marqué l'histoire (2020). Avant sa nomination chez Town & Country, Volandes était directrice du style du magazine depuis mars 2012, façonnant chaque mois les articles mode et société dans un rôle qui lui a permis de développer la gamme journalistique et l'écurie de contributeurs du magazine. Avant d'être nommée directrice du style, elle était directrice des accessoires de bijoux depuis avril 2011. Auparavant, Volandes était rédactrice de style pour le magazine Departures, où elle a attribué et édité toutes les fonctionnalités de mode et de bijoux, ayant occupé des postes de plus en plus élevés depuis 2003. Volandes est diplômé du Vassar College, avec une maîtrise en anglais et littérature comparée de l'Université de Columbia.

Isaac Mizrahi
Photo de Gregg Richards

ISAAC MIZRAHI
Isaac Mizrahi a beaucoup travaillé dans l'industrie du divertissement en tant qu'interprète, animateur, écrivain, concepteur et producteur depuis plus de 30 ans. Il a une résidence annuelle au Café Carlyle à New York et s'est produit dans divers lieux à travers le pays tels que Joe's Pub, The Regency Ballroom et plusieurs établissements City Winery à l'échelle nationale. Le New York Times a noté, "il se qualifie comme un père fondateur d'un genre qui fusionne l'art de la performance, la musique et la comédie stand-up." Il est le sujet et co-créateur de Décompressé, un documentaire suite à la réalisation de sa collection Automne 1994 qui a reçu un prix au Sundance Film Festival. Il a animé son propre talk-show télévisé Le spectacle Isaac Mizrahi pendant sept ans, a écrit trois livres et a fait d'innombrables apparitions au cinéma et à la télévision. Il a exercé les fonctions de juge sur Project Runway : All-Stars pour l'intégralité des sept saisons de la série. Mizrahi a dirigé des productions de Une petite musique de nuit à ces émotions et de  La Flûte enchantée pour l'Opéra Théâtre de Saint-Louis. Chaque année, il dirige et raconte sa production du classique pour enfants Peter et le loup au Musée Guggenheim de New York. Mizrahi a sa propre société de production, Isaac Mizrahi Entertainment, sous laquelle il a plusieurs projets en développement dans les domaines de la télévision, du théâtre et de la littérature. Le sien New York Times Mémoire à succès, IM, a été publié en février 2019.

Clint Ramos
Photo de Marc J. Franklin

CLINT RAMOS
Clint Ramos est designer, éducateur, activiste et producteur. Il a été nominé 5 fois pour le prix TONY et récipiendaire d'un prix TONY pour la meilleure conception de costumes d'une pièce de théâtre pour Eclipsed - la première personne de couleur à gagner dans cette catégorie. Il a conçu des décors et/ou des costumes pour plus de deux cents productions de théâtre, d'opéra et de danse. Les crédits du film incluent : Production Design for Lingua Franca par Isabel Sandoval pour Netflix ; la conception de costumes pour RESPECT, le biopic d'Aretha Franklin avec Jennifer Hudson pour MGM sera sur grand écran en août 2021; et la conception de costumes pour I Wanna Dance With Somebody, le biopic de Whitney Houston qui sortira en 2022. Clint est le directeur créatif de production pour Encores ! au New York City Center, est professeur adjoint de design et chef de la conception et de la production à l'Université Fordham, et il siège au comité consultatif de l'American Theatre Wing. Son plaidoyer de longue date est pour un paysage équitable dans le théâtre et le cinéma pour les Noirs, les Autochtones et les personnes de couleur et pour les droits des immigrants.  

Alex Vadukul

ALEX VADUKUL
Alex Vadukul est un correspondant de la ville pour le New York Times et il écrit pour le Sunday Metropolitan et le bureau Obits. Il a écrit des profils sur des personnages new-yorkais tels que Chicken Delicious, un pianiste de Midtown au passé occulte ; Sir Shadow, un artiste énigmatique qui est l'un des derniers hommes vivant dans le dernier flophouse sur le Bowery ; Angela Mao, une star de cinéma de kung-fu des années 1970 qui a disparu et a refait surface des décennies plus tard en gérant des restaurants dans le Queens ; et Saul Chandler, un prodige du violon qui a trouvé la paix sur les eaux de City Island. Alex enseigne également le journalisme à la New School University et il a remporté trois fois le prix du New York Press Club pour l'écriture urbaine.


SOUTENIR LE MUSÉE DE LA VILLE DE NEW YORK

Ce déjeuner de l'après-midi permet de récolter des fonds cruciaux pour le travail important du musée, de nos expositions riches en contenu qui célèbrent et interprètent la ville, aux sorties sur le terrain et aux programmes extrascolaires offerts par notre centre d'éducation Frederick AO Schwarz, à la gérance de nos collections extraordinaires. Ces programmes n'ont jamais été aussi importants, alors que la ville de New York continue d'avancer à travers la pandémie de COVID.

SUPPORT


NOS SUPPORTERS

Président d'honneur du déjeuner
Elizabeth Farran Tozer

Coprésidents du déjeuner
Lucinda H. Bhavsar  Elisabeth Graziolo  Elizabeth R. Miller  Tracey Pontarelli Catherine Prounis Sophie Volandes Heather Vrattos


Pour plus d'information veuillez contacter: 
     ●  Jackie Zirman
, directeur des événements spéciaux, à jzirman@mcny.org
     ●  Samantha Fleck, directeur associé des événements spéciaux, à sfleck@mcny.org

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

2021 Fall Symposium & Luncheon

When: Tuesday, October 19, 2021, 11:30am
Price: Tickets start at $500
Fall Symposium & Luncheon

On Tuesday, October 19th, the Museum of the City of New York is excited to host its annual Symposium & Luncheon once again. Every year for more than two decades, the Symposium & Luncheon has celebrated the artists and designers who have made New York City the design capital of the world. The Symposium has featured design icons like Cynthia Rowley, Peter Marino, Jacques Grange, Ralph Pucci, Jonathan Adler, and Simon Doonan, amongst many others. 

Over the last year and a half, the artists and designers of New York City have shown the breadth of their innovation and creativity in support of their fellow New Yorkers from pivoting to mask making, to re-envisioning interior and exterior design layouts to allow for safe gatherings, to lifting the spirits of the local communities through new, site-specific works of art.  

In the spirit of these innovators, this year’s Symposium & Luncheon will feature a panel of design experts as they discuss how the streets and characters of New York City provide an endless amount of inspiration to artists and creative thinkers.

  • Featuring Stellene Volandes, Editor-in-Chief of Town & Country
  • In conversation with
    • Isaac Mizrahi, Performer, Writer, Designer & Producer
    • Clint Ramos, Tony Award-Winning Designer & Creative Producer
    • Alex Vadukul, City Correspondent, The New York Times 


Schedule of Events
     ●  11:30 a.m. - Champagne Reception
     ●  12:00 p.m. - Symposium
     ●  1:00 p.m. - Luncheon

PURCHASE TICKETS

Important Information for Event Attendees
     ●  Proof of vaccination is required for entry into the event for everyone over the age of 12, so please plan ahead! Excelsior Pass is accepted for those who were vaccinated in NYS. 
     ●  Masks will be required both indoors and outdoors regardless of vaccination status.
     ●  For more information about the Museum’s COVID Guidelines, please check our "Plan Your Visit" page.


ABOUT OUR SPEAKERS

Stellene Volandes

STELLENE VOLANDES
Stellene Volandes is the Editor-in-Chief of Town & Country and the Editorial Director of Elle Decor. She is the author of Jeweler: Masters, Mavericks, and Visionaries of Modern Design (2016) and Jewels That Made History (2020). Before her appointment at Town & Country, Volandes had been style director at the magazine since March 2012, shaping the fashion and society features each month in a role that gave her a significant hand in developing the magazine’s journalistic range and stable of contributors. Prior to being named style director, she served as jewelry accessories director since April 2011. Previously to that, Volandes was style editor for Departures magazine, where she assigned and edited all fashion and jewelry features, having held increasingly senior roles since 2003. Volandes is a graduate of Vassar College, with a Master’s degree in English and Comparative Literature from Columbia University.

Isaac Mizrahi
Photo by Gregg Richards

ISAAC MIZRAHI
Isaac Mizrahi has worked extensively in the entertainment industry as a performer, host, writer, designer and producer for over 30 years. He has an annual residency at Café Carlyle in New York City and has performed at various venues across the country such as Joe’s Pub, The Regency Ballroom and several City Winery locations nationwide. The New York Times noted, "he qualifies as a founding father of a genre that fuses performance art, music and stand-up comedy." He is the subject and co-creator of Unzipped, a documentary following the making of his Fall 1994 collection which received an award at the Sundance Film Festival. He hosted his own television talk show The Isaac Mizrahi Show for seven years, has written three books, and has made countless appearances in movies and on television. He served as a judge on Project Runway: All-Stars for the series’ entire seven-season run. Mizrahi has directed productions of A Little Night Music and The Magic Flute for the Opera Theatre of St. Louis. Annually, he directs and narrates his production of the children’s classic Peter and The Wolf at The Guggenheim Museum in New York. Mizrahi has his own production company, Isaac Mizrahi Entertainment, under which he has several projects in development in television, theatre and literature. His New York Times Bestselling memoir, I.M., was published in February 2019.

Clint Ramos
Photo by Marc J. Franklin

CLINT RAMOS
Clint Ramos is a designer, educator, activist and producer. He is a 5-time TONY Award Nominee and the recipient of a TONY Award for Best Costume Design of a Play for Eclipsed - the first person of color to win in this category. He has designed sets and/or costumes for over two hundred theater, opera and dance productions. Film credits include: Production Design for Lingua Franca by Isabel Sandoval for Netflix; costume design for RESPECT, the Aretha Franklin biopic starring Jennifer Hudson for MGM will be on the big screen in August 2021; and costume design for I Wanna Dance With Somebody, the Whitney Houston biopic coming out in 2022. Clint is the Producing Creative Director for Encores! at New York City Center, is assistant professor of design and Head of Design and Production at Fordham University, and he serves on the American Theater Wing’s Advisory Committee. His lifelong advocacy is for an equitable landscape in theater and film for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color and for the rights of immigrants.  

Alex Vadukul

ALEX VADUKUL
Alex Vadukul is a city correspondent for The New York Times and he writes for Sunday Metropolitan and the Obits desk. He teaches journalism at The New School University.  


OUR SUPPORTERS

Honorary Luncheon Chair
Elizabeth Farran Tozer

Luncheon Co-Chairs
Lucinda H. Bhavsar  Laura Lofaro Freeman  Elizabeth Graziolo  Elizabeth R. Miller  Tracey Pontarelli Kathy Prounis Sophia Volandes Heather Vrattos


SPONSORSHIP LEVELS & BENEFITS

This afternoon luncheon raises crucial funds for the important work of the Museum, from our content-rich exhibitions that celebrate and interpret the city, to field trips and out-of-school time programs offered by our Frederick A.O. Schwarz Education Center, to stewardship of our extraordinary collections. These programs have never been more important, as New York City continues to move forward through the COVID pandemic.

  • Golden Angel Table  ●  $10,000 for ten tickets
    • Ten (10) tickets for the Symposium; premium table placement for lunch; prominent listing in the program; and a complimentary Starlight Circle membership for one year. 
  • Angel Table$5,000 for ten tickets
    • Ten (10) tickets for the Symposium; preferred table placement for lunch; prominent listing in the program; and a complimentary DeWitt Clinton Circle membership for one year.
  • Platinum Angel Ticket  ●  $2,500 per ticket
    • One (1) ticket for the Symposium; preferred seating for lunch; prominent listing in the program; and a complimentary Museum Fellow membership for one year.
  • Golden Angel Ticket  ●  $1,000 per ticket
    • One (1) ticket for the Symposium; reserved seating for lunch; and listing in the program.
  • Angel Ticket  ●  $500 per ticket
    • One (1) ticket for the Symposium; seating for lunch; and listing in the program.
  • Junior Ticket  ●  $250 per ticket
    • One (1) ticket for the Symposium; seating for lunch; and listing in the program. LIMITED AVAILABILITY FOR SUPPORTERS 35 YEARS OR YOUNGER. MAXIMUM 2 TICKETS PER ORDER.


PURCHASE TICKETS
*$100 of each ticket is not tax-deductible


For more information, please contact: 
     ●  Jackie Zirman
, Director of Special Events, at jzirman@mcny.org
     ●  Samantha Fleck, Associate Director of Special Events, at sfleck@mcny.org

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?