Événement passé: Athlètes aux militants: politique du terrain de jeu

Quand : Mercredi, mars 20, 2019, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

Jackie Robinson et Duke Snider, 1953 Photographie du Kenneth Eide Museum de la ville de New York, The LOOK Collection. Don de Cowles Magazines, Inc.

Lorsque Jackie Robinson a rejoint les Brooklyn Dodgers en 1947, il est devenu le premier joueur de baseball noir des ligues majeures de l'ère moderne - et a ouvert la voie aux athlètes pour servir de signes avant-coureurs du changement social. Vingt ans plus tard, aux Jeux Olympiques de 1968, l'athlète vedette John Carlos leva le poing en signe de protestation silencieuse contre l'injustice raciale et économique américaine, résultant non seulement d'une photographie de renommée mondiale, mais aussi de sa suspension de l'équipe olympique américaine. Maintenant, des décennies après que Robinson est entré sur le terrain pour la première fois et que Carlos ait risqué sa carrière pour une cause, les athlètes professionnels utilisent leur visibilité pour défendre ce en quoi ils croient. Rejoignez Carlos pour une conversation avec ESPN Howard Bryant sur la relation complexe entre les athlètes noirs et l'activisme, et les mondes entrelacés du sport et de la politique.

Co-présenté avec La Fondation Jackie Robinson, cette conférence accompagne notre prochaine exposition, En pirogue avec Jackie Robinson: un portrait intime d'une légende du baseball (ouvert jusqu'au 15 septembre). 

À propos des conférenciers:
John Carlos est le co-fondateur du Projet olympique pour les droits de l'homme, dont l'objectif était de protester contre la ségrégation raciale dans le sport. Aux Jeux Olympiques de 1968, Carlos et son compatriote Tommie Smith ont levé les poings en signe de protestation silencieuse contre le racisme et la dépression économique en Amérique, ce qui a entraîné leur suspension de l'équipe olympique. La célèbre photographie du moment a largement attiré l'attention sur ces questions. Carlos a continué à exceller en athlétisme et à jouer avec la NFL. Il est ensuite devenu conseiller à la Palm Springs High School.

Howard Bryant (modérateur) est rédacteur principal pour ESPN.com et ESPN The Magazine et apparaît régulièrement sur la programmation ESPN. Il a été le correspondant sportif de NPR Weekend Edition samedi depuis 2006. Gagnant à deux reprises du prix Casey du meilleur livre de baseball de l'année Magazine Spitball, Les livres de Bryant incluent Extraire le jeu: drogues, propulser le combat pour l'âme du baseball majeur, Shut Out: Une histoire de course et de baseball à Bostonet, plus récemment, Le patrimoine: les athlètes noirs, une Amérique divisée et la politique du patriotisme.

Nos Supporters et Partenaires

Ce programme est rendu possible en partie par Jim Hanley et Taconic Builders et co-présenté avec le Fondation Jackie Robinson

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Athletes to Activists: Politics of the Playing Field

When: Wednesday, March 20, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Jackie Robinson and Duke Snider, 1953 Photograph by Kenneth Edie Museum of the City of New York, The LOOK Collection. Gift of Cowles Magazines, Inc.

When Jackie Robinson joined the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1947, he became first black major league baseball player of the modern era – and paved the way for athletes to serve as harbingers of social change. Twenty years later, at the 1968 Olympic Games, track and field star John Carlos raised his fist in silent protest of American racial and economic injustice, resulting not only in a world famous photograph, but also his suspension from the U.S. Olympic Team. Now, decades after Robinson first stepped on the field and Carlos risked his career for a cause, professional athletes are using their visibility to advocate for what they believe in. Join Carlos for a conversation with ESPN's Howard Bryant about the complex relationship between black athletes and activism, and the intertwined worlds of sports and politics.

Co-presented with The Jackie Robinson Foundation, this talk accompanies our upcoming exhibition, In the Dugout with Jackie Robinson: An Intimate Portrait of a Baseball Legend (opens January 31, 2019). 

About the Speakers:
John Carlos is an athlete from Harlem. He is the co-founder of the Olympic Project for Human Rights, whose focus was to protest against racial segregation and racism in sports. At the 1968 Olympic Games, Carlos and fellow athlete Tommie Smith raised their fists in silent protest, which resulted in their suspension from the Olympic team. The famous photograph of the moment, however, brought widespread attention to these issues. Carlos went on to excel at track and field and play with the NFL. He later became a counselor at Palm Springs High School.

Howard Bryant (moderator) is a senior writer for ESPN.com and ESPN The Magazine and appears regularly on ESPN programming. He has been the sports correspondent for NPR's Weekend Edition Saturday since 2006. A two-time winner of the Casey Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year from Spitball Magazine, Bryant’s books include Juicing the Game: Drugs, Power the Fight for the Soul of Major League Baseball, Shut Out: A Story of Race and Baseball in Boston, and, most recently, The Heritage: Black Athletes, a Divided America, and the Politics of Patriotism.

$20 for Adults | $15 for Students, Seniors, and Educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum Members
Includes Museum admission.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Our Supporters and Partners

This program is made possible in part by Jim Hanley & Taconic Builders and co-presented with the Jackie Robinson Foundation

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?