Événement passé: L'extraordinaire dans l'ordinaire avec Roz Chast et Neil Goldberg

Quand : Mercredi, octobre 2, 2019, 6: 30pm
L'extraordinaire dans l'ordinaire
De gauche à droite, gracieuseté de Roz Chast, Neil Goldberg

Dessinateur Roz Chast et artiste visuel et de performance Neil Goldberg réfléchir à trouver l'humour, l'absurdité et la beauté dans les moments de tous les jours - en particulier à travers les yeux des New-Yorkais. Né à Brooklyn, Chast a fait la chronique des angoisses, des plaisirs et des dangers de la vie urbaine contemporaine en tant qu'auteur et caricaturiste de longue date pour The New Yorker. Le travail de Goldberg capture également les résidents de la ville au milieu des moments quotidiens - de la commande d'un déjeuner à l'épicerie fine à la course pour un train. Son projet le plus récent, Prescriptions d'autres personnes, une étude photographique des New-Yorkais regardant à travers un objectif correctif, considère certaines des myriades de perspectives qui caractérisent la vie urbaine. Après chaque présentation d'une courte présentation, Chast et Goldberg s'asseoiront avec l'auteur et ancien animateur et correspondant de NPR. Jacki Lyden pour discuter de leur travail.  

À propos des conférenciers:

Roz Chast est un dessinateur de renom qui a publié des centaines de pièces dans The New Yorker pendant près de quatre décennies. Auteur du mémoire primé et le plus vendu, Ne pouvons-nous pas parler de quelque chose de plus agréable? (Bloomsbury, 2014), Chast a fait l'objet de l'exposition du Museum of the City of New York en 2016, Roz Chast: Mémoires de dessins animés. Elle a écrit et illustré de nombreux livres pour enfants, dont une collaboration avec Steve Martin sur le livre pour enfants L'alphabet de A à Y avec la lettre bonus Z!, a contribué à de nombreuses collections d'humour et donné de nombreuses conférences.   

Neil Goldberg réalise des œuvres d'art visuel et de performance qui se concentrent sur l'incarnation, la perception, la mortalité et le quotidien. Son travail fait partie des collections permanentes du MoMA, du Museum of the City of New York et du Jewish Museum, et a été présenté dans des institutions artistiques à travers l'Amérique du Nord et l'Europe. Il est Fellow Guggenheim et enseigne à la Yale School of Art. Le New York Times décrit son travail comme «tendre, émouvant et triste mais aussi profondément drôle» et Time Out New York a écrit: "Goldberg a produit certains des arts les plus calmement intenses et les plus touchants de sa génération."

Jacki Lyden (modérateur) était un hôte primé et correspondant étranger pour NPR pendant plus de 30 ans, et contribue toujours à NPR. Ses mémoires à succès, Fille de la reine de Saba, a été salué comme un classique par Le New York Times, adapté pour le cinéma et traduit en neuf langues. Elle a beaucoup parlé de la maladie mentale familiale. Elle travaille actuellement sur ses prochains mémoires, Dis moi quelque chose de bien, qui suit sa transformation de conteuse. Elle vit à Brooklyn et à Silver Spring, MD.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: The Extraordinary in the Ordinary with Roz Chast & Neil Goldberg

When: Wednesday, October 2, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $35 & up | $30 for Museum Members
The Extraordinary in the Ordinary
From left to right, courtesy of Roz Chast, Neil Goldberg

Cartoonist Roz Chast and visual and performance artist Neil Goldberg reflect on finding humor, absurdity, and beauty in everyday moments – particularly through the eyes of New Yorkers. Brooklyn-born Chast has chronicled the anxieties, pleasures, and perils of contemporary city life as an author and longtime staff cartoonist for The New Yorker. Goldberg’s work also captures residents of the city amidst everyday moments – from ordering lunch at the deli to running for a train. His most recent project, Other People’s Prescriptions, a photographic study of New Yorkers looking through corrective lens, considers some of the myriad various perspectives that characterize urban life. After each giving a short presentation, Chast and Goldberg will sit down with author and former NPR host and correspondent Jacki Lyden to discuss their work.  

About the Speakers:

Roz Chast is an acclaimed cartoonist who has published hundreds of pieces in The New Yorker for almost four decades. Author of the award-winning, best-selling memoir, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant? (Bloomsbury, 2014), Chast was the subject of the Museum of the City of New York's 2016 exhibition, Roz Chast: Cartoon Memoirs. She has written and illustrated many children’s books, including a collaboration with Steve Martin on the children’s book The Alphabet from A to Y with Bonus Letter Z!, contributed to numerous humor collections, and lectured widely.   

Neil Goldberg makes visual art and performance work that focuses on embodiment, sensing, mortality, and the everyday. His work is in the permanent collections of MoMA, the Museum of the City of New York, and the Jewish Museum, and has been presented at art institutions throughout North America and Europe. He is a Guggenheim Fellow and teaches at the Yale School of Art. The New York Times described his work as “tender, moving and sad but also deeply funny" and Time Out New York wrote, “Goldberg has produced some of the most quietly intense and affecting art of his generation.”

Jacki Lyden (moderator) was an award-winning host and foreign correspondent for NPR for over 30 years, and still contributes to NPR.  Her bestselling memoir, Daughter of the Queen of Sheba, was hailed as a classic by The New York Times, adapted for film, and translated into nine languages.  She has spoken widely on the subject of family mental illness.  She's currently at work on her next memoir, Tell Me Something Good, which follows her transformation as a storyteller.  She lives in Brooklyn and Silver Spring, MD.

$40 for Adults | $35 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$30 for Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?