Événement passé: "Black is Beautiful": mode et conscience

Quand : Mardi, février 6, 2018, 6: 30pm
Gracieuseté de Kwame Brathwaite Photography, Kwame Brathwaite, Untitled (Self-Portrait), v. 1964; Kwame Brathwaite, Sikolo Brathwaite portant un postiche perlé de la créatrice Carolee Prince, v. 1967.

Veuillez noter que ce programme est maintenant épuisé. Si vous prévoyez d'y assister, mais que vous n'avez pas de billet, il y aura un théâtre à débordement disponible où vous pouvez regarder une diffusion simultanée de l'événement. Une liste d'attente sera disponible à la porte pour les places dans l'auditorium mais nous ne garantissons pas que des billets seront disponibles.

Photographe documentaire Kwame Brathwaite et son fils Kwame S. Brathwaite rejoindre l'historien Tanisha Ford et designer Mimi Plange pour réfléchir à l'impact des photographies pionnières de Brathwaite Sr. «Black Is Beautiful». À partir de la fin des années 1950 et du début des années 60, Brathwaite a contribué à populariser une vision afro-centrique de la beauté féminine avec des cheveux non raidis et une peau foncée, puis considérée comme exotique dans les médias américains traditionnels et la culture populaire. Inspirés des écrits de Marcus Garvey, les portraits «naturels» de Brathwaite des modèles Grandassa témoignent du pouvoir durable de la mode et de la photographie en tant qu'outils culturels et politiques.

Ce programme est inspiré de notre prochaine exposition, Mod New York: la mode fait un voyage (à l'affiche jusqu'au 1 avril 2018). Pour afficher tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici.

En savoir plus sur le travail de Kwame Brathwaite ici.

À propos des conférenciers:
Kwame Brathwaite a été considéré comme le photographe documentaire omniprésent du mouvement Black Arts & Culture. Il a commencé comme photographe de jazz et a contribué à former l'African Jazz Art Society and Studios (AJASS), qui a lancé le mouvement «Black Is Beautiful» à travers des concerts, des défilés de mode, des événements et des photographies. Il a également pris des photos d'événements emblématiques, tels que le Rumble in the Jungle et le voyage des Jackson Five en Afrique en 1974.

Kwame S. Brathwaite, fils du photographe Kwame Brathwaite, gère les archives photographiques de son père et s'engage dans des projets collaboratifs qui reflètent les thèmes variés du travail de son père: activisme, politique, mode et musique.

Tanisha C. Ford est professeur agrégé d'études et d'histoire africaines à l'Université du Delaware. Elle est l'auteur de Fils libérés: les femmes noires, le style et la politique mondiale de l'âme (University of North Carolina Press, 2015).

Designer né au Ghana Mimi Plange a lancé sa marque de prêt-à-porter en 2010, utilisant l'Afrique comme une source d'inspiration illimitée. Les créations de Plange ont été portées par l'ancienne Première Dame Michelle Obama et Rihanna, entre autres. Son travail a été présenté dans des publications, notamment Le New York Times.

Cet événement fait partie de Carnegie Hall's Les années 60: les années qui ont changé l'Amérique Festival.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: "Black Is Beautiful": Fashion and Consciousness

When: Tuesday, February 6, 6:30pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Courtesy of Kwame Brathwaite Photography, Kwame Brathwaite, Untitled (Self- Portrait), c. 1964; Kwame Brathwaite, Sikolo Brathwaite wearing a beaded hairpiece by designer Carolee Prince, c. 1967.

Please note that this program is now sold out. If you are planning on attending, but don't have a ticket, there will be an overflow theater available where you can watch a simultaneous broadcast of the event. A waitlist will available at the door for seats in the auditorium but we do not guarantee that any tickets will become available.

Documentary photographer Kwame Brathwaite and his son Kwame S. Brathwaite join historian Tanisha Ford and designer Mimi Plange to reflect on the impact of Brathwaite Sr.’s pioneering “Black Is Beautiful” photographs. Beginning in the late 1950s and early ‘60s, Brathwaite helped to popularize an Afro-centric vision of female beauty featuring unstraightened hair and dark skin, then considered exotic in mainstream American media and popular culture. Inspired by the writings of Marcus Garvey, Brathwaite’s "natural" portraits of the Grandassa Models serve as a testament to the lasting power of fashion and photography as cultural and political tools.

This program is inspired by our upcoming exhibition, Mod New York: Fashion Takes a Trip (on view through April 1, 2018). To view all of the programs in the series, click here

Read more about Kwame Brathwaite's work here.

About the Speakers:
Kwame Brathwaite has been considered the ever-present documentary photographer of the Black Arts & Culture movement. He started as a jazz photographer and helped to form the African Jazz Art Society and Studios (AJASS), which launched the “Black Is Beautiful” movement through concerts, fashion shows, events, and photographs. He also took pictures of iconic events, such as the Rumble in the Jungle and The Jackson Five’s trip to Africa in 1974.

Kwame S. Brathwaite, son of photographer Kwame Brathwaite, manages his father's photographic archive and engages in collaborative projects that reflect the varied themes of his father's work: activism, politics, fashion, and music.

Tanisha C. Ford is Associate Professor of Africana Studies and History at the University of Delaware. She is the author of Liberated Threads: Black Women, Style, and the Global Politics of Soul (University of North Carolina Press, 2015).

Ghanaian-born designer Mimi Plange launched her ready-to-wear label in 2010, using Africa as a limitless font of inspiration.  Plange’s designs have been worn by former First Lady Michelle Obama and Rihanna, among others. Her work has been featured in publications including The New York Times.

This event is part of Carnegie Hall’s The ’60s: The Years that Changed America festival.

$20 for adults | $15 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum members
Includes Museum admission.

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?