Activisme portoricain de New York à San Juan - et au-delà

Quand : Mardi 25 février, 6h30
Prix: 12 $ et plus | 10 $ pour les membres du musée
Image des jeunes seigneurs
Juan Gonzales au Young Lords Office, Hiram Maristany, ca. 1971, Modern Print, gracieuseté de l'artiste; Solidarité avec le Porto Rico Rally Chicago Illinois 5-7-18, photo de Charles Edward Miller via Flickr Creative Commons

L'action militante du Young Lords Party continue d'être une référence pour les militants contemporains à New York et sur l'île de Porto Rico. Cela n'est nulle part plus clair que dans les efforts actuels de la diaspora portoricaine pour soutenir les luttes progressistes dans l'île. Historiquement, ces ponts de solidarité se sont révélés à la fois inestimables et difficiles, car les militants naviguent ici et là, leurs identités croisées et les histoires divergentes de leurs communautés. Johanna Fernández, auteur du livre à paraître, Young Lords: une histoire radicale (Février 2020), s'assoit pour une conversation sur l'activisme, les diasporas et la décolonisation avec un activiste, un organisateur et un chercheur Pablo Benson-Silva, cinéaste, écrivain et universitaire Frances Negrón-Muntaner, ancien jeune seigneur Mickey Melendez, et Monxo López, boursier postdoctoral de la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon au Musée de la ville de New York.

À propos des conférenciers:
Pablo Benson-Silva est une militante, organisatrice et chercheuse née et élevée à San Juan, Porto Rico, qui a déménagé à New York il y a plus de 14 ans. Il a été impliqué dans de nombreux projets qui couvrent Occupy Wall Street, le réseau d'entraide portoricain, Fearless Cities et le mouvement coopératif des travailleurs. Il est également partenaire de Movement Netlab, un groupe de réflexion sur les mouvements sociaux du réseau. Depuis l'été 2017, Benson-Silva siège au conseil d'administration de la Fédération américaine des coopératives de travail associé et est directrice de l'adhésion au NYC Network of Worker Cooperatives. Il a étudié la sociologie à l'Université de Porto Rico et à la New School for Social Research et se lance plus que rarement dans l'enseignement.


Johanna Fernández enseigne L'histoire américaine du 20e siècle, l'histoire des mouvements sociaux, l'économie politique des villes américaines et l'histoire afro-américaine au département d'histoire du Baruch College (CUNY). Elle est l'auteur, la rédactrice et la corédactrice de plusieurs livres et revues, dont Young Lords: une histoire radicale (Février 2020) et Écriture sur le mur: Écrits choisis de la prison de Mumia Abu-Jamal (2015). Elle a dirigé et co-organisé l'exposition ¡Presente! The Young Lords à New York au Bronx Museum of the Arts, El Museo del Barrio et Loisaida Inc. L'écriture de Fernández est apparue dans de nombreuses publications, y compris Al-Jazira, Le New York Times, NPR et Le Wall Street Journal. Ses prix comprennent la bourse Fulbright Scholars au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord et une dotation nationale pour le programme de bourses en sciences humaines du Scholurg Center for Research in Black Culture de la New York Public Library.

Miguel «Mickey» Melendez, Auteur de Nous avons pris les rues (2003), est titulaire d'une maîtrise en administration publique et a occupé des postes de direction à la New York City Health and Hospital Corporation, à la Housing Authority et au Department of Education. Melendez a également enseigné au Département d'études hispaniques du Baruch College et est actuellement professeur au John Jay College of Criminal Justice. En tant qu'ancien jeune seigneur, il reste un activiste engagé pour les droits portoricains.

Frances Negrón-Muntaner est cinéaste, écrivaine, universitaire et professeure à l'Université Columbia, où elle est également conservatrice fondatrice du Archives des arts latino-américains et de l'activisme. Parmi ses livres et publications figurent Le fossé des médias latino-américains (2014), et Actes souverains: Contester le colonialisme dans les nations autochtones et en Amérique latine (2017). Ses films les plus récents incluent Guerre pour Guam (2015) et La vie à l'extérieur (2016). Elle a reçu de nombreux prix et bourses, notamment des bourses Ford et Pew, le Lenfest Award (2012) et le premier prix OZY Educator Award (2017). En 2008, le mécanisme de réponse rapide des médias des Nations Unies l'a reconnue comme une experte mondiale dans les domaines des médias de masse et des études latino-américaines. Elle a lancé Valor y Cambio, en 2019, un projet d'art, de narration numérique et d'économie juste à Porto Rico (valorymcambio.org) qui a reçu le Premio Borimix 2019 de la Society for Educational Arts de New York.

Monxo López (modérateur) est chercheur, éducateur, cartographe et activiste urbain basé dans le South Bronx. Il est actuellement boursier de la Fondation Mellon au Musée de la ville de New York et boursier en cartographie au Design Trust for Public Spaces. Il est également membre fondateur de South Bronx Unite (une organisation locale de justice environnementale), ainsi qu’un membre fondateur et membre du conseil Mott Haven / Port Morris Community Land Stewards, le Community Land Trust local. López est titulaire d'un doctorat. en sciences politiques du CUNY's Graduate Center. Il a grandi à Porto Rico et vit actuellement à Mott Haven, dans le South Bronx.

Ce programme est inspiré de notre Militant new york exposition. Pour voir tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici.

15 $ Adultes | 12 $ Aînés, étudiants et éducateurs (avec pièce d'identité)
Membres du Musée à 10 $

Membres: Pour recevoir votre réduction, cliquez sur le bouton "Acheter des billets" ci-dessus, puis connectez-vous à votre compte sur la page de billetterie.

Groupes de 10 personnes ou plus obtenir des rabais; Contactez-nous à programmes@mcny.org ou 917.492.3395.

Accessibilité: Des appareils d'aide à l'écoute sont disponibles et notre monte-charge pour auditorium peut accueillir des fauteuils roulants manuels et motorisés (capacité maximale 500 lb). Veuillez contacter le Musée au 917.492.3333 ou info@mcny.org et posez nous toutes les questions.

Partisans

Militant new york et ses programmes associés sont rendus possibles par La Fondation Puffin, Ltd.

Militant new york est l'exposition inaugurale de La Fondation Puffin Gallery, qui se consacre à la manière dont les New-Yorkais ordinaires ont exercé leur pouvoir pour façonner l'avenir de la ville et de la nation.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Puerto Rican Activism from New York to San Juan - and Beyond

When: Tuesday, February 25, 6:30pm
Price: $12 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Young Lords image
Juan Gonzales at Young Lords Office, Hiram Maristany, ca. 1971, Modern Print, courtesy of the artist; Solidarity With Puerto Rico Rally Chicago Illinois 5-7-18, photo by Charles Edward Miller via Flickr Creative Commons

The activist work of the Young Lords Party continues to be a point of reference for contemporary activists both in New York City and the island of Puerto Rico. Nowhere is this clearer than in current efforts within the Puerto Rican diaspora to support progressive struggles in the island. Historically, these bridges of solidarity have proven both invaluable and fraught, as activists navigate the here and there, their intersecting identities, and the diverging histories of their communities. Johanna Fernández, author of the forthcoming book, Young Lords: A Radical History (February, 2020), sits down for a conversation about activism, diasporas, and decolonization with activist, organizer, and researcher Pablo Benson-Silva, filmmaker, writer, and scholar Frances Negrón-Muntaner, former Young Lord Mickey Melendezand Monxo López, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Museum of the City of New York.  

Additional speakers to be announced. Check back or join our email list for updates. 

This program is inspired by our ongoing Activist New York exhibition. To view all the programs in the series, click here

About the Speakers:
Pablo Benson-Silva is an activist, organizer, and researcher born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico that moved to New York City more 14 years ago. He has been involved in many projects that span from Occupy Wall Street, the Puerto Rican Mutual Aid Network, Fearless Cities, and the worker cooperative movement.  He is also a partner at Movement Netlab, a think-do-learn tank on network social movements. Since summer 2017, Benson-Silva has served on the Board of Directors of the U.S. Federation of Worker Cooperatives and is director of membership for the NYC Network of Worker Cooperatives. He studied sociology at the University of Puerto Rico and at the New School for Social Research and more than occasionally dabbles in teaching.


Johanna Fernández teaches 20th Century U.S. history, the history of social movements, the political economy of American cities, and African-American history in the Department of History at Baruch College (CUNY). She is the author, editor, and co-editor of multiple books and journals, including Young Lords: A Radical History (February, 2020) and Writing on the Wall: Selected Prison Writings of Mumia Abu-Jamal (2015). She directed and co-curated the exhibition ¡Presente! The Young Lords in New York at the Bronx Museum of the Arts, El Museo del Barrio, and Loisaida Inc. Fernández’s writing has appeared in many publications including Al Jazeera, The New York Times, NPR, and The Wall Street Journal. Her awards include the Fulbright Scholars grant to the Middle East and North Africa and a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship of the Scholars-in-Residence program at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library. 

Miguel “Mickey” Melendez, author of We Took the Streets (2003), has a master's degree in public administration and has held executive positions in the New York City Health and Hospital Corporation, Housing Authority, and Department of Education. Melendez has also taught in the Hispanic Studies Department at Baruch College and is currently a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice. As a former Young Lord, he remains a committed activist for Puerto Rican rights.

Frances Negrón-Muntaner is a filmmaker, writer, scholar and professor at Columbia University, where she is also the founding curator of the Latino Arts and Activism Archive. Among her books and publications are The Latino Media Gap (2014), and Sovereign Acts: Contesting Colonialism in Native Nations and Latinx America (2017). Her most recent films include War for Guam (2015) and Life Outside (2016). She has received multiple awards and fellowships, including Ford and Pew fellowships, the Lenfest Award (2012), and inaugural OZY Educator Award (2017). In 2008, the United Nations' Rapid Response Media Mechanism recognized her as a global expert in the areas of mass media and Latin/o American studies. She launched Valor y Cambio, in 2019, an art, digital storytelling and just economy project in Puerto Rico (valorymcambio.org) which was awarded the 2019 Premio Borimix from the Society for Educational Arts in New York.

Monxo López (moderator) is a researcher, educator, cartographer, and South Bronx-based urban activist. He is currently a Mellon Foundation Fellow at the Museum of the City of New York, and was a Mapping Fellow at the Design Trust for Public Spaces. He is also a founding member of South Bronx Unite (a local environmental justice organization), as well as a founding and board member of the Mott Haven/Port Morris Community Land Stewards, the local Community Land Trust. López holds a Ph.D. in political science from CUNY’s Graduate Center. He grew up in Puerto Rico, and currently lives in Mott Haven, the South Bronx.

$15 Adults | $12 Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$10 Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

Activist New York and its associated programs are made possible by The Puffin Foundation, Ltd

Activist New York is the inaugural exhibition in The Puffin Foundation Gallery, which is dedicated to the ways in which ordinary New Yorkers have exercised their power to shape the city's and the nation's future.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?