Événement passé: Drawing NYC: A Conversation with Kim Deitch

Quand : Mercredi, janvier 15, 2020, 6: 30pm
Image de conversation de Kim Deitch
De gauche à droite: couverture "Reincarnation Stories"; Kim Deitch avec l'aimable autorisation de l'artiste

Rejoignez le romancier graphique et la légende underground du comix Kim Deitch et critique de jazz et historien Gary Giddins pour discuter du dernier livre de Deitch, Histoires de réincarnation (Fantagraphics, 2019), vient d'être nommé l'un des "Meilleures bandes dessinées de 2019" par Le New York Times. Avec des décors allant de Central Park à la surface de la lune, et un casting de personnages dont un pianiste de jazz félin, le dessinateur Spain Rodriguez, Jésus-Christ en conquérant intergalactique, Frank Sinatra et Deitch lui-même, Histoires de réincarnation mélange le familier avec le fantastique. The Times qualifie les surréalistes de Deitch de «méditations renversantes sur les cycles de vie [les deux] comme un plaisir d'évasion et une note optimiste pour ce moment époustouflant».

Réception et signature du livre à suivre.

Cet événement fait partie de notre Conversations de base série. Pour voir tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici

À propos des conférenciers:
Kim Deitch a commencé à faire des bandes dessinées pour Le East Village Autre en 1967 et en 1969 succède à Vaughn Bodé comme rédacteur en chef du Autretabloïd de la bande dessinée underground. Le sien Boulevard des rêves brisés (2002) a été nommé l'un des Fois «100 meilleurs romans graphiques jamais écrits», il a également reçu un Eisner Award et un Inkpot Award pour son travail. Son dernier livre est Histoires de réincarnation (2019). Deitch reste un vrai caricaturiste de dessinateurs, adoré par ses pairs autant que par quiconque dans l'histoire du médium. 

Gary Giddins rejoint The Village Voice en 1973, et un an plus tard, 
a présenté sa chronique «Weather Bird», qui a duré jusqu'en 2003, remportant six prix ASCAP Deems Taylor pour l'excellence de la critique musicale. Ces dernières années, Giddins a contribué des articles sur le jazz à Le New Yorker, le Jazz Times, le New York Times, l'Atlantique, la Nation, Esquire, Vanity Fair, et de nombreuses autres publications. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail, notamment un Peabody, un Grammy et une bourse Guggenheim. Giddins vient également de terminer le deuxième (sur trois) volumes de sa biographie de Bing Crosby.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Drawing NYC: A Conversation with Kim Deitch

When: Wednesday, January 15, 6:30pm – 8:00pm
Price: $15 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Kim Deitch conversation image
From left to right: "Reincarnation Stories" cover; Kim Deitch courtesy of the artist

Join graphic novelist and underground comix legend Kim Deitch and jazz critic and historian Gary Giddins to discuss Deitch's latest book, Reincarnation Stories (Fantagraphics, 2019), just named one of the “Best Comics of 2019” by The New York Times. With settings ranging from Central Park to the surface of the moon, and a cast of characters including a feline jazz pianist, cartoonist Spain Rodriguez, Jesus Christ as an intergalactic conqueror, Frank Sinatra, and Deitch himself, Reincarnation Stories blends the familiar with the fantastic. The Times calls Deitch’s surreal “fact-flipping meditations on cycles of life [both] an escapist pleasure and an optimistic note for this mind-bending moment.”

Reception and book signing to follow.

This event is part of our Core Conversations series. To view all the programs in the series, click here

About the Speakers:
Kim Deitch got his start doing comic strips for The East Village Other in 1967 and in 1969 succeeded Vaughn Bodé as editor of the Other’s underground comics tabloid. His Boulevard of Broken Dreams (2002) was named one of Time’s “100 Best Graphic Novels Ever Written," he has also been awarded an Eisner Award and an Inkpot Award for his work. His newest book is Reincarnation Stories (2019). Deitch remains a true cartoonists’ cartoonist, adored by his peers as much as anyone in the history of the medium. 

Gary Giddins joined The Village Voice in 1973, and a year later, 
introduced his column “Weather Bird,” which ran through 2003, garnering six ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards for Excellence in Music Criticism. In recent years, Giddins has contributed articles about jazz to The New Yorker, Jazz Times, The New York Times, The Atlantic, The Nation, Esquire, Vanity Fair, and many other publications. He has received many awards for his work, including a Peabody, a Grammy, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Giddins has also just completed the second (of three) volumes of his Bing Crosby biography.

$20 for Adults | $15 for Seniors, Students, and Educators (with ID)
$10 for Museum Members

Members: To receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts; contact us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Accessibility: Assistive listening devices are available and our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?