Journée de la famille | Indien urbain: New York natif maintenant

Quand : Wednesday, February 19, 2020, 11:00am – 2:00pm
photographie en noir et blanc d'un jeune garçon autochtone tenant un cerceau dans la main gauche et un autre cerceau autour de la jambe droite. Un doigt pointe la photo.
Photo extraite de "Louis Mofsie on The Thunderbirds '41th Annual Mid Mid-Summer Pow Wow", 2019 produite par Rebecca Jacobs et Nate Lavey pour le Museum of the City of New York.

Que signifie être un autochtone vivant à New York aujourd'hui? Rejoignez-nous pour l'heure du conte avec Elise McMullen-Ciotti (membre de la Nation Cherokee) alors qu'elle lit à haute voix le célèbre livre pour enfants Indien pas plus. Explorez les galeries pour découvrir les expériences intersectionnelles des Amérindiens dans les espaces urbains et créer des œuvres d'art basées sur l'exposition Indien urbain: Native New York maintenant.

L'heure du conte commencera rapidement à 11 h 15, des activités de création artistique suivront.

À propos de l'éditeur:
Elise McMullen-Ciotti est une rédactrice, écrivaine et éducatrice indépendante qui travaille dans l'édition de livres pour enfants depuis 2012. Ses clients incluent Scholastic, Arthur A. Levine, Coffee House Press, Macmillan, Roaring Brook Press, Outland Entertainment, Shadow Mountain, Lee & Low et son empreinte Tu Books. Membre de la Nation Cherokee, le plus grand objectif d'Elise en tant qu'éditrice de livres a été de promouvoir et de publier des histoires et des auteurs autochtones. En tant qu'écrivain, elle est essayiste et blogueuse et devrait publier deux livres (TBA) en 2021. Avant sa carrière dans l'édition, Elise a travaillé dans la cuisine, la télévision, puis la télévision. Elle vit à New York avec son mari, une grande bibliothèque personnelle et une cuisine ouverte.

Au sujet du livre:
Lorsque le gouvernement fédéral signe un projet de loi qui dit que la tribu de Regina n'existe plus pour eux, Regina ne devient plus «indienne» du jour au lendemain - même si elle vit avec sa tribu et pratique les coutumes tribales, et même si ses ancêtres étaient indiens depuis d'innombrables générations . Maintenant que la tribu a perdu sa base terrestre dans l'Oregon, le père de Regina signe la famille pour le programme de relocalisation indienne et les déménage à Los Angeles. Regina trouve un tout nouveau monde dans son quartier sur la 58e place. Elle n'a jamais rencontré des enfants d'autres races, et ils n'ont jamais rencontré un vrai Indien. Regina doit découvrir: qui est Regina Petit? Est-elle indienne? Est-elle américaine? Et sa famille et elle seront-elles encore d'accord?


Les programmes familiaux sont gratuits avec entrée au Musée et gratuits pour les membres, destinés aux familles avec enfants de 6 à 12 ans et comprennent une collation. Les activités sont conçues pour les adultes et les enfants à compléter ensemble.

Gratuit avec entrée au Musée. Inscription suggérée, mais pas obligatoire.

Partisans

Les programmes d'engagement familial et communautaire sont rendus possibles en partie par le Fonds commémoratif Margaret S. Ogden et Stephen A. Ogden, la Fondation Milton et Sally Avery Arts, la Fondation Sy Syms et la Fondation Frank J. Antun.

Le Frederick AO Schwarz Education Centre est doté de subventions du Thompson Family Foundation Fund, de la FAO Schwarz Family Foundation, du William Randolph Hearst Endowment et d'autres généreux donateurs.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Family Day | Urban Indian: Native New York Now

When: Wednesday, February 19, 11:00am – 2:00pm
Price: Free with Museum admission. Registration suggested, but not required.
black and white photograph of a young Native boy holding a hoop in his left hand, and another hoop around his right leg. A finger is pointing at the photograph.
Still from "Louis Mofsie on The Thunderbirds’ 41st Annual Grand Mid-Summer Pow Wow," 2019 produced by Rebecca Jacobs and Nate Lavey for the Museum of the City of New York.

What does it mean to be a Native person living in New York today? Join us for story time with Elise McMullen-Ciotti (a member of the Cherokee Nation) as she reads aloud from the acclaimed children’s book Indian No More. Explore the galleries to learn about the intersectional experiences of Native Americans in urban spaces and create artwork based on the exhibition Urban Indian: Native New York Now.

Story time will begin promptly at 11:15 am, art-making activities will follow.

About the Editor:
Elise McMullen-Ciotti is a freelance editor, writer, and educator who has worked in children’s book publishing since 2012. Her clients have included Scholastic, Arthur A. Levine, Coffee House Press, Macmillan, Roaring Brook Press, Outland Entertainment, Shadow Mountain, Lee & Low and its imprint Tu Books. A member of the Cherokee Nation, Elise’s biggest goal as a book editor has been to promote and publish Native stories and authors. As a writer, she is an essayist and blogger and is set to publish two books (TBA) in 2021. Before her career in publishing, Elise worked in food, television, and then food in television. She lives in New York City with her husband, a large personal library, and an open kitchen.

About the Book:
When the federal government signs a bill into law that says Regina’s tribe no longer exists to them, Regina becomes “Indian no more” overnight—even though she lives with her tribe and practices tribal customs, and even though her ancestors were Indian for countless generations. Now with the tribe losing its land base in Oregon, Regina’s father signs the family up for the Indian Relocation program and moves them to Los Angeles. Regina finds a whole new world in her neighborhood on 58th Place. She’s never met kids of other races, and they’ve never met a real Indian. Regina must find out: Who is Regina Petit? Is she Indian? Is she American? And will she and her family ever be okay again?


Family programs are free with Museum admission and free for Members, geared to families with children ages 6–12 years old, and include a snack. Activities are designed for adults and children to complete together. 

Free with Museum admission. Registration suggested, but not required.

Accessibility: Our auditorium wheelchair lift can accommodate manual and motorized wheelchairs (max. capacity 500 lbs). Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions.

Supporters

Family and Community Engagement Programs are made possible in part by the Margaret S. Ogden and Stephen A. Ogden Memorial Fund, Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Sy Syms Foundation, and the Frank J. Antun Foundation.

The Frederick A.O. Schwarz Education Center is endowed by grants from The Thompson Family Foundation Fund, the F.A.O. Schwarz Family Foundation, the William Randolph Hearst Endowment, and other generous donors.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?