Déchiffrer le code: favoriser la participation du public au zonage

Quand : Jeudi, mars 16, 2017, 6: 30pm

Cet événement est passé.

Projet Habitat for Humanity Rowhouse, Bronx, NY, Terminé: 2005, 13 unités, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects, Photographie: © Kevin Chu + Jessica Paul, avec l'aimable autorisation de Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects

Le zonage peut être compris comme la langue de la ville physique, mais sa complexité est souvent considérée comme un obstacle à la participation du public à la planification et au développement. Comme Jane Jacobs l'a déclaré: «Les villes ont la capacité de fournir quelque chose à tout le monde uniquement parce que, et seulement quand, elles sont créées par tout le monde. processus d'urbanisme inclusif. 

Joan Byron, Fondateur et directeur, Neighbourhoods First Fund for Community Based Planning
Christine Gaspar, Directeur exécutif, Centre de pédagogie urbaine
Basha Gerhard, Directeur adjoint de l'utilisation des sols, Bureau du président de l'arrondissement de Manhattan
Antonio Reynoso, Membre du Conseil de la ville de New York, 34e arrondissement
Paul Selver, Coprésident, Département de l'utilisation des terres, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Jill Lerner, FAIA (modérateur), Directeur, KPF Associates

Présenté en collaboration avec Société municipale d'art, en lien avec l'exposition Maîtriser la métropole: New York et le zonage, 1916-2016

1.5 crédit LU AIA CES sera offert pour assister à cet événement.

Co-sponsors

Présenté en collaboration avec Société municipale d'art.

La série de programmes publics pour Maîtriser la métropole est coparrainé par Chapitre de l'AIA à New York | Centre d'architecture, les Département d'urbanisme de New York, et Académie de médecine de New York, ainsi quedes Département d'architecture du Barnard College et de l'Université Columbia, les Baruch College Steven L. Newman Real Estate Institute à la Zicklin School of BusinessCityLand, CIVITAS, le École supérieure d'architecture, d'urbanisme et de préservation de l'Université Columbia, les Université Columbia Herbert H. Lehman Center for American History, les École des affaires internationales et publiques de l'Université Columbia, les École d'architecture CUNY, le Amis des quartiers historiques de l'Upper East Side, Habitat for Humanity NYC Jeunes professionnels, les Conseil des quartiers historiques, les Institut d'architecture publique, Point de repère East HarlemAssociation de quartier Murray Hill, le Centre de préservation du quartier, les Congrès du bâtiment de New York, les Commission de préservation des monuments de New York, les Programme d'études de conception urbaine et d'architecture de NYU, le Centre de planification et d'environnement de l'Institut Pratt, le Ligue de préservation de New York, le Projet pour les espaces publics, le Association du plan régional, le Département d'architecture paysagère de Rutgers, les Société des historiens de l'architecture, La Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation, le Association des étudiants en urbanisme à NYU Wagneret NOUS AGISSONS pour la justice environnementale.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Cracking the Code: Fostering Public Participation in Zoning

When: Thursday, March 16, 6:30pm
Price: $15 and up | $10 for Museum members
Habitat for Humanity Rowhouse Project, Bronx, NY, Completed: 2005, 13 units, Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects, Photograph: © Kevin Chu + Jessica Paul, Courtesy of Murphy Burnham & Buttrick Architects

Zoning can be understood as the language of the physical city, but its complexity is often seen as a roadblock to public participation in planning and development. As Jane Jacobs famously stated, “Cities have the capability of providing something for everybody only because, and only when, they are created by everybody.” Join us to discuss ways that New York City might demystify its zoning code and foster a more democratic and inclusive city-planning process. 

Joan Byron, Founder and Director, Neighborhoods First Fund for Community Based Planning
Christine Gaspar, Executive Director, Center for Urban Pedagogy
Basha Gerhards, Deputy Director of Land Use, Manhattan Borough President's Office
Antonio Reynoso, New York City Councilmember, 34th District
Paul Selver, Co-chair, Land-Use Department, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Jill Lerner, FAIA (moderator), Principal, KPF Associates

Presented in collaboration with The Municipal Art Society, in conjunction with the exhibition Mastering the Metropolis: New York and Zoning, 1916-2016

1.5 LU AIA CES credits will be offered for attending this event.

$20 for adults | $15 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum members. Includes Museum admission.

 

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Co-Sponsors

Presented in collaboration with The Municipal Art Society.

The public programs series for Mastering the Metropolis is co-sponsored by AIA New York Chapter | Center for Architecture, the New York Department of City Planning, and the New York Academy of Medicine, as well as the Barnard College & Columbia University Architecture Department, the Baruch College Steven L. Newman Real Estate Institute at the Zicklin School of BusinessCityLand, CIVITAS, the Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, the Columbia University Herbert H. Lehman Center for American History, the Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs, the CUNY School of Architecture, the Friends of the Upper East Side Historic Districts, Habitat for Humanity NYC Young Professionals, the Historic Districts Council, the Institute for Public Architecture, Landmark East HarlemThe Murray Hill Neighborhood Association, the Neighborhood Preservation Center, the New York Building Congress, the NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission, the NYU Urban Design and Architecture Studies Program, the Pratt Institute Center for Planning and the Environment, the Preservation League of New York, the Project for Public Spaces, the Regional Plan Association, the Rutgers Department of Landscape Architecture, the Society of Architectural Historians, The Greenwich Village Society for Historic Preservation, the Urban Planning Student Association at NYU Wagner, and WE ACT for Environmental Justice.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?