Événement passé: Quand les gens dansent: Salsa, pouvoir et performance à New York

Quand : Dimanche, septembre 17, 2017, 2: 00pm

Cet événement est passé.

Marlis Momber, jam session La Banda en lot vide, 1986; Hazel Hankin, Eddie Torres et Melissa Rosado se produisant au SOBs, 2010; Robert Iulo, Central Park, 1976

Fusion des étapes mambo et des styles de rue, la danse salsa a émergé dans les boîtes de nuit de New York dans les années 1960 où elle n'était pas formellement enseignée mais absorbée au début. Depuis, la salsa est passée d'un mouvement local qui se joue dans les rues et les clubs de la ville à un phénomène mondial qui a irrévocablement façonné les rythmes et la culture de New York. Inspiré par notre exposition actuelle, Rythme et puissance: Salsa à New York (à l'affiche jusqu'au 26 novembre), joignez-vous à d'éminents universitaires pour examiner la salsa aujourd'hui en tant que production à la fois culturelle et commerciale, et explorez les liens inséparables qui existent entre la musique et la danse.

Performance musicale de OLA FRESQUE, visionnement de l'exposition et réception à suivre.

Remarques d'ouverture: 
Sidney Hutchinson, Professeur agrégé, Université de Syracuse

Panélistes:
Frances Aparacio, Directeur du programme d'études latines et latino-américaines, Northwestern University
Marisol Berrios Miranda, Professeur adjoint affilié, Université de Washington
Priscille Renta, chercheur, auteur et doctorant à la Florida Atlantic University
Chris Washburn, Directeur fondateur du Louis Armstrong Jazz Performance Program, Columbia University
Cesar Colon-Montijo (modérateur), journaliste et doctorante, Columbia University

À propos des conférenciers: 
Sidney Hutchinson est un Professeur agrégé d'histoire et de cultures musicales à l'Université de Syracuse et rédacteur en chef de Salsa World: une danse mondiale dans des contextes locaux (Temple University Press, 2015).

Frances Aparicio est professeur d'espagnol et de portugais et directeur du programme d'études latines et latino-américaines à la Northwestern University. Elle est également l'auteur de Écoute de la salsa: genre, musique populaire latine et cultures portoricaines (Wesleyen, 1998). 

Marisol Berrios Miranda est professeur adjoint affilié d'ethnomusicologie à l'Université de Washington et co-conservateur de American Sabor: les latinos dans la musique populaire américaine, une exposition sur l'influence des musiciens latinos sur la musique populaire américaine.
 
Priscille Renta est chercheur en danse et en études latines. Elle est co-éditrice de Rythme et puissance: jouer de la salsa dans les communautés portoricaines et latino-américaines, publié par le Journal du Centre d'études portoricaines en 2017, et est actuellement doctorant au Center for Body, Mind and Culture de la Florida Atlantic University.

Chris Washburn est tromboniste, professeur agrégé de musique et directeur fondateur du Louis Armstrong Jazz Performance Program de l'Université Columbia. Il a écrit le livre Sounding Salsa: jouer de la musique latine à New York (Temple University Press, 2008). 

César Colon-Montijo est journaliste et doctorant en ethnomusicologie à Columbia University. Il est l'éditeur du Cocinando Suave: Ensayos de Salsa en Porto Rico (El Perro y la Rana, 2015), un recueil d'œuvres sur les histoires de la salsa. 

Nos Partenaires

Le Musée remercie chaleureusement la Fondation Andrew W. Mellon pour son soutien à la bourse du commissaire d'exposition Derrick León Washington, qui a fait son travail sur Rythme et puissance: Salsa à New York de qualité. 

Grace à Programme Ailey / Fordham BFA, Société BAILACentre culturel cubain de New Yorkle ColuDépartement des cultures latino-américaines et ibériques de l'Université de Mbia, le Centre CUNY d'études latino-américaines, caraïbes et latino-américaines, les Département d'anthropologie du Collège Lehman, les Département d'ethnomusicologie de l'Université Columbiale Département de sociologie et d'anthropologie Fordham University, Hunter College, les Institut d'études latino-américaines à l'université de colombie, le Département d'études d'Amérique latine, latino et portoricain au Collège Lehman, Études latino-américaines et latino à l'Université Fordham, El Museo del Barrio, le NYU Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, le Département d'histoire de NYU, les NYU Programme d'éducation à la danse Steinhart, le Département d'analyse sociale et culturelle de NYU, le École d'études professionnelles de NYU, et La nouvelle école du jazz et de la musique contemporaine.

Un merci spécial à Elena Martinez et Ethan Wagner. 

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: When the People Dance: Salsa, Power, and Performance in New York City

When: Sunday, September 17, 2:00pm
Price: $20 & up | $15 for Museum Members
Marlis Momber, La Banda jam session in empty lot, 1986; Hazel Hankin, Eddie Torres and Melissa Rosado performing at SOBs, 2010; Robert Iulo, Central Park, 1976

A fusion of mambo steps with street styles, salsa dancing emerged in the nightclubs of New York City in the 1960s where at first it wasn’t formally taught but absorbed. Salsa has since grown from a local movement played out in the city’s streets and clubs into a global phenomenon that has irrevocably shaped the rhythms and culture of New York City. Inspired by our current exhibition, Rhythm & Power: Salsa in New York (on view through November 26), join leading scholars to examine salsa today as both a cultural and commercial production, and delve into the inseparable links that exist between music and dance.

Musical performance by OLA FRESCA, exhibition viewing, and reception to follow.

Opening Remarks: 
Sydney Hutchinson, Associate Professor, Syracuse University

Panelists:
Frances Aparacio, Director of the Latina and Latino Studies Program, Northwestern University
Marisol Berrios-Miranda, Affiliate Assistant Professor, University of Washington
Priscilla Renta, scholar, author, and doctoral fellow at Florida Atlantic University
Chris Washburne, Founding Director of the Louis Armstrong Jazz Performance Program, Columbia University
Cesar Colon-Montijo (moderator), journalist and doctoral candidate, Columbia University

About the Speakers: 
Sydney Hutchinson is an Associate Professor of Music History and Cultures at Syracuse University and editor of Salsa World: A Global Dance in Local Contexts (Temple University Press, 2015).

Frances Aparicio is a professor of Spanish and Portuguese and Director of the Latina and Latino Studies Program at Northwestern University. She is also the author of Listening to Salsa: Gender, Latin Popular Music and Puerto Rican Cultures (Wesleyan, 1998). 

Marisol Berrios-Miranda is an Affiliate Assistant Professor of Ethnomusicology at the University of Washington and co-curator of American Sabor: Latinos in U.S. Popular Music, an exhibition about the influence of Latino musicians on popular American music.
 
Priscilla Renta is a dance and Latinx studies scholar.  She is co-editor of Rhythm & Power: Performing Salsa in Puerto Rican and Latino Communities, published by the Centro Journal of Puerto Rican Studies in 2017, and is currently a doctoral fellow at the Center for Body, Mind and Culture at Florida Atlantic University.

Chris Washburne is a trombonist, Associate Professor of Music, and the Founding Director of the Louis Armstrong Jazz Performance Program at Columbia University. He wrote the book Sounding Salsa: Performing Latin Music in New York (Temple University Press, 2008). 

Cesar Colon-Montijo is a journalist and doctoral candidate in Ethnomusicology at Columbia University. He is the editor of the Cocinando Suave: Ensayos de Salsa en Puerto Rico (El Perro y la Rana, 2015), a collection of works about the histories of salsa. 

$25 for adults | $20 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $15 for Museum Members. 
Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917.492.3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium can accommodate manual wheelchairs, however, our wheelchair lift cannot currently accommodate electric or motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Public Programs Department at 917.492.3395 or programs@mcny.org with any questions or concerns. 

Our Partners

The Museum gratefully acknowledges the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation’s support of exhibition curator Dr. Derrick León Washington’s fellowship, which made his work on Rhythm & Power: Salsa in New York possible. 

Thanks to the Ailey/Fordham BFA Program, BAILA SocietyCuban Cultural Center of New Yorkthe Columbia University Department of Latin American and Iberian Cultures, the CUNY Center for Latin American, Caribbean & Latino Studies, the Department of Anthropology at Lehman College, the Department of Ethnomusicology at Columbia Universitythe Department of Sociology and Anthropology Fordham University, Hunter College, the Institute of Latin American Studies at Columbia University, the Latin America, Latino and Puerto Rican Studies Department at Lehman College, Latin American and Latino Studies at Fordham University, El Museo del Barrio, the NYU Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, the NYU Department of History, the NYU Steinhart Dance Education Program, the NYU Department of Social Cultural Analysis, the NYU School of Professional Studies, and The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music.

Special thanks to Elena Martinez and Ethan Wagner. 

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?