Événement passé: Foi dans les cinq arrondissements

Quand : Mardi novembre, 14, 2017, 7: 00pm

Cet événement est passé.

Dans notre moment présent profondément fracturé, rejoignez-nous pour une conversation sur le rôle évolutif - et de plus en plus dynamique - de la foi et des communautés religieuses dans la vie des New Yorkais aujourd'hui. Journaliste Sarah Maslin Nir s'assoit avec Rabbin Sharon Kleinbaum de la Congrégation Beit Simchat Torah, la plus grande synagogue LGBT du monde, Pasteur Kenneth Hart, autoproclamé "Hood Pastor" d'une nouvelle église peu orthodoxe à Harlem, et Dr Debbie Almontaser, Fondateur et PDG de Bridging Cultures Group - en notre dernière édition de Seulement à New York.

Réception à suivre avec des boissons non alcoolisées et de la bière gracieuseté de Harlem Blue.

Seulement à New York avec Horaires journaliste Sarah Maslin Nir est une série de conversations réunissant deux ou plusieurs New-Yorkais distinctifs de mondes différents pour explorer des questions clés sur l'identité, la culture et l'histoire de la ville.

** Veuillez noter que l'imam Shamsi Ali n'est plus en mesure de participer à cet événement en raison d'une urgence familiale. 

À propos des conférenciers:

Dr Debbie Almontaser est un éducateur, conférencier et autorité reconnu internationalement et primé en matière de compréhension interculturelle. Elle est un leader communautaire influent et la fondatrice et PDG de Bridging Cultures Group, Inc. Le Dr Almontaser a été la fondatrice et ancienne directrice de la Khalil Gibran International Academy à Brooklyn, NY. Elle est actuellement présidente du conseil d'administration du Muslim Community Network (www.mcnny.org). Elle donne fréquemment des conférences, participe à des panels et anime des ateliers publics et des enseignants sur la diversité culturelle, la résolution des conflits, la culture arabe, l'islam, les musulmans en Amérique, la formation d'une coalition interconfessionnelle et le leadership des jeunes dans un large éventail d'institutions.

Pasteur Kenneth Hart is le pasteur principal de Le rassemblement Harlem, une église multi-ethnique et non confessionnelle à Harlem. Le rassemblement est passionné de voir un Harlem où tout le monde est unifié et digne parce que la justice, l'amour et la miséricorde sont présents. Hart a quitté une carrière professionnelle de baseball pour devenir pasteur et est diplômé du Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Il a grandi à Harlem et dans le Bronx. 

Rabbin Sharon Kleinbaum est le chef spirituel de Congrégation Beit Simchat Torah (CBST). Elle a été installée en tant que premier rabbin de la CBST en 1992, arrivant au plus fort de la crise du sida alors que la synagogue avait désespérément besoin de soins pastoraux et de leadership spirituel. Sous sa direction en tant que grand rabbin, CBST est devenue une voix puissante dans le mouvement pour l'égalité et la justice pour les personnes de toutes orientations sexuelles, identités de genre et expressions.

Sarah Maslin Nir est originaire de New York et reporter pour Les New York Times mieux connue pour son rapport sur les conditions de travail des travailleurs de salon de manucure, pour lequel elle était finaliste du prix Pulitzer 2016. Diplômée de la Brearley School, de la Columbia University et de la Columbia University School of Journalism, où elle a obtenu sa maîtrise, elle a également été Le new york Fois' correspondant de vie nocturne, couvrant 252 soirées en 18 mois. Elle a déjà eu une audience avec la reine d'Espagne, mais elle ne s'en est pas rendu compte à l'époque. Elle travaille actuellement sur un livre sur les chevaux à New York pour Simon & Schuster.

Nos Partenaires

Bière fournie par Bleu Harlem

Un merci spécial à Un voyage à travers les religions de New YorkAvoda, Département de religion du Collège Barnard, Bureau de l'aumônier universitaire de l'Université Columbia, Études judaïques de l'Université Fordham, le Services interconfessionnels en cas de catastrophe à New York, Comité de solidarité juive musulmane de New York, le Association des étudiants musulmans de NYU, Alliance d'apprentissage One Spirit, Tanenbaum, et le Union Theological Seminary.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Faith in the Five Boroughs

When: Tuesday, November 14, 7:00pm
Price: $20 and up | $15 for Museum members

In our deeply fractured present moment, join us for a conversation about the evolving – and increasingly vibrant – role of faith and faith communities in New Yorkers’ lives today. Reporter Sarah Maslin Nir sits down with Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum of Congregation Beit Simchat Torah, the world's largest LGBT synagogue, Pastor Kenneth Hart, self-proclaimed "Hood Pastor" of an unorthodox new church in Harlem, and Dr. Debbie Almontaser, Founder & CEO of Bridging Cultures Group -- in our latest edition of Only in New York.

Reception to follow with both non-alcoholic beverages and beer courtesy of Harlem Blue.

Only in New York with Times reporter Sarah Maslin Nir is a conversation series bringing together two or more distinctive New Yorkers from different worlds to explore key questions about the city’s identity, culture, and history.

**Please note that Imam Shamsi Ali is no longer able to participate in this event due to a family emergency. 

About the Speakers:

Dr. Debbie Almontaser is an internationally recognized, award-winning educator, speaker and authority on cross cultural understanding. She is an influential community leader and the Founder and CEO of Bridging Cultures Group, Inc. Dr. Almontaser was the founding and former principal of the Khalil Gibran International Academy in Brooklyn, NY. Currently, she is the Board President of the Muslim Community Network (www.mcnny.org). She frequently lectures, serves on panels, and facilitates teacher and public workshops on cultural diversity, conflict resolution, Arab Culture, Islam, Muslims in America, interfaith coalition building and youth leadership at a wide range of institutions.

Pastor Kenneth Hart is the lead pastor of The Gathering Harlem, a multi-ethnic, non-denominational church in Harlem. The Gathering is passionate about seeing a Harlem where everyone is unified and dignified because justice, love, and mercy are present. Hart left a professional baseball career to become a pastor and graduated from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He grew up in Harlem and the Bronx. 

Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum is the spiritual leader of Congregation Beit Simchat Torah (CBST). She was installed as CBST’s first rabbi in 1992, arriving at the height of the AIDS crisis when the synagogue was in desperate need of pastoral care and spiritual leadership. Under her leadership as Senior Rabbi, CBST has become a powerful voice in the movement for equality and justice for people of all sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Sarah Maslin Nir is a native New Yorker and a reporter for The New York Times best known for her report on the working conditions of nail salon workers, for which she was a finalist for the 2016 Pulitzer Prize. A graduate of the Brearley School, Columbia University, and the Columbia University School of Journalism, where she received her master’s, she was also The New York Times' nightlife correspondent, covering 252 parties in 18 months. She once had an audience with the Queen of Spain, though she failed to realize it at the time. She is currently working on a book about horses in New York City for Simon & Schuster.

$25 for adults | $20 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $15 for Museum members.
Includes Museum admission and complimentary beer courtesy of Harlem Blue.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium can accommodate manual wheelchairs, however, our wheelchair lift cannot currently accommodate electric or motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Public Programs Department at 917.492.3395 or programs@mcny.org with any questions or concerns. 

Our Partners

Beer provided by Harlem Blue

Special thanks to A Journey Through NYC ReligionsAvodah, Barnard College Department of Religion, Columbia University Office of the University Chaplain, Fordham University Judaic Studies, the New York Disaster Interfaith Services, NYC Muslim Jewish Solidarity Committee, the NYU Muslim Students Association, One Spirit Learning Alliance, Tanenbaum, and the Union Theological Seminary.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?