Événement passé: City of Rising Waters: A Symposium

Quand : Dimanche, octobre 22, 2017, 2: 00pm

Cet événement est passé.


Pour marquer le cinquième anniversaire de Superstorm Sandy - un moment décisif pour la prise de conscience des New Yorkais des effets dévastateurs du changement climatique - rejoignez-nous pour un programme d'après-midi examinant comment New York peut survivre et embrasser son avenir en tant que ville côtière entourée de la montée des eaux.

Ceci est le programme d'ouverture de L'avenir de New York dans un climat en évolution, une nouvelle série de conversations explorant les défis et opportunités présentés dans le musée Laboratoire de la future ville, la troisième galerie interactive de New York à son noyau, notre exposition permanente phare. Pour afficher tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici

Réception et visionnement de l'exposition à suivre. 

Conversation un | 2h00
Confronter l'impensable

Romancier Amitav ghosh, Auteur de Le grand dérangement: le changement climatique et l'impensable, rejoint Dr Naomi Oreskes, auteur et historien des sciences, et Dre Elke Weber, psychologue et théoricien social, pour une large conversation animée par journaliste Andrew Revkin sur le contexte culturel et psychologique du changement climatique et l'extrême difficulté que nous éprouvons à affronter les faits - et l'avenir - de front.

Conversation deux | 3h30
Réponses de la communauté au changement climatique

Face à l'inaction au niveau national, les villes et leurs habitants représentent le meilleur espoir d'une réponse efficace au changement climatique. Rejoignez un groupe d'artistes et d'organisateurs communautaires à l'avant-garde de ces interventions pour une conversation sur les approches créatives du changement climatique, des initiatives locales aux projets artistiques provocateurs.

Cecil Corbin Mark, Directeur adjoint, WE ACT for Environmental Justice
Marie Mattingly, artiste plasticien et fondateur de Swale, une forêt flottante de nourriture construite au sommet d'une barge
Généa Foster, Coordinatrice des politiques de justice climatique chez UPROSE
Courtney St. John (modératrice), Directeur de la transition énergétique, Climate Nexus

Regardez le programme ici: 


Horaire:
2h00
- Première conversation: Confronter l'impensable
3h15 - Entracte (café et thé)
3h30 - Deuxième conversation: Réponses de la communauté au changement climatique
4h45 - Réception et visionnement de l'exposition (vin et rafraîchissements légers)
5h00 - Kubi Ackerman, directeur du Laboratoire de la future ville, présente le Lab
5h10 - Présure ouvert à l'exploration; Les guides du musée seront postés dans le laboratoire
6h00 - Le musée ferme

À propos des conférenciers:
Cecil Corbin Mark est directeur adjoint et directeur des initiatives politiques pour NOUS AGISSONS pour la justice environnementale à Harlem. Corbin-Mark a précédemment travaillé pour le procureur de district du comté de Bronx, l'honorable WT Martin, juge de l'État de New York, le programme de boursiers de la minorité Mellon et la bibliothèque publique de New York.

Généa Foster coordonne le Climate Justice Centre et la Protect Our Working Waterfront Alliance à UPROSE, une organisation communautaire intergénérationnelle, multiraciale et reconnue à l'échelle nationale qui promeut la durabilité et la résilience dans le quartier Sunset Park de Brooklyn. Urbaniste spécialisé dans la planification environnementale, le développement communautaire et l'engagement communautaire, Foster travaille sur des projets portant sur la résilience climatique, l'énergie durable, le réaménagement des friches industrielles, la santé publique et la gentrification environnementale. 

Amitav ghosh est l'auteur de Le grand dérangement: le changement climatique et l'impensable, publié en juillet 2016. Il est un romancier primé dont les livres comprennent Le Cercle de raison, Les lignes de l'ombre et Le Palais de verre. Son travail a été traduit dans plus de vingt langues et ses essais ont été publiés dans The New Yorker, La Nouvelle République et Le New York Times.  

Marie Mattingly est un artiste basé à Brooklyn dont le travail explore les questions de durabilité, de changement climatique et de déplacement. Elle est la fondatrice de Swale, une forêt alimentaire flottante construite au sommet d'une barge qui se rend aux quais de New York, offrant une programmation éducative et accueillant les visiteurs pour récolter gratuitement des herbes, des fruits et des légumes. 

Dre Naomi Oreskes is Professeur d'histoire des sciences et professeur affilié des sciences de la Terre et des planètes à l'Université de Harvard. Son essai de 2004 «Le consensus scientifique sur le changement climatique» (Science 306: 1686) a été largement cité, y compris dans le film primé aux Oscars Une vérité qui dérange et dans le roman d'Ian McEwan Solaire

Andrew Revkin (modérateur, "Confronting the Unthinkable") est Senior Reporter pour le climat et les questions connexes à ProPublica. Il a écrit sur le changement climatique pendant 30 ans, de l'Amazonie au pôle Nord, de la Maison Blanche au Vatican. Il a rejoint le personnel de la salle de presse d'intérêt public lauréat du prix Pulitzer en décembre après 21 ans d'écriture pour Le New York Times. Il a écrit des livres acclamés sur le réchauffement climatique, l'évolution de l'Arctique et la forêt tropicale amazonienne.

Courtney St. John (modératrice, «Réponses de la communauté aux changements climatiques») est directeur de la transition énergétique chez Nexus climatique, un groupe de communication stratégique dédié à la mise en évidence des impacts du changement climatique et des solutions d'énergie propre aux États-Unis. St. John a précédemment occupé des postes à l'Institut de la Terre de l'Université Columbia, au Groupe de travail sur le changement climatique de la marine américaine et à titre de John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellow au Bureau de l'océanographe de la marine. En 2015, Courtney a été honorée en tant que «sHero» du climat, l'une des 19 femmes travaillant pour faire avancer l'action contre le changement climatique à New York.

Dre Elke Weber est Gerhard R. Andlinger Professeur dans l'énergie et l'environnement et Professeur de psychologie et Affaires publiques à l'Université de Princeton. Ses recherches examinent et modélisent la prise de décision en fonction du risque, de l'incertitude et du délai dans une perspective psychologique et neuroscientifique, en mettant l'accent sur la compréhension et la correction potentielle des décisions environnementales souvent loin d'être rationnelles que nous prenons. 

Parrainer

L'avenir de New York dans un climat en évolution est sponsorisé par Savills Studley.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: City of Rising Waters: A Symposium

When: Sunday, October 22, 2:00pm
Price: $35 & up | $30 for Museum members

To mark the fifth anniversary of Superstorm Sandy -- a watershed moment for New Yorkers' awareness of the devastating impacts of climate change -- join us for an afternoon program examining how New York City can survive and embrace its future as a coastal city surrounded by rising waters.

This is the opening event in our new series, New York's Future in a Changing Climate, which explores the challenges and opportunities presented in the Museum's Future City Lab, the interactive third gallery in the New York at Its Core exhibition.

Reception and exhibition viewing to follow. 

Conversation One | 2:00 pm
Confronting the Unthinkable

Novelist Amitav Ghosh, author of The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable, joins Dr. Naomi Oreskes, author and historian of science, and Dr. Elke Weber, psychologist and social theorist, for a wide-ranging conversation moderated by journalist Andrew Revkin about the cultural and psychological context of climate change and the extreme difficulty we experience in facing the facts -- and the future -- head-on.

Conversation Two | 3:30 pm
Community Responses to Climate Change

In the face of inaction at the national level, cities and their residents represent the best hope for an effective response to climate change. Join a group of artists and community organizers at the forefront of these interventions for a conversation about creative approaches to climate change, from grassroots initiatives to provocative artistic projects.

Cecil Corbin-Mark, Deputy Director, WE ACT for Environmental Justice
Mary Mattingly, visual artist and founder of Swale, a floating food forest built atop a barge
*Genea Foster, Climate Justice Policy Coordinator at UPROSE
Courtney St. John (moderator), Director of Energy Transition, Climate Nexus

**Please note that due to UPROSE’s work on the ongoing crisis in Puerto Rico, Elizabeth Yeampierre will no longer be able to participate in this event.

Schedule:
2:00 pm
- Conversation One: Confronting the Unthinkable
3:15 pm - Intermission (coffee & tea)
3:30 pm - Conversation Two: Community Responses to Climate Change
4:45 pm - Reception and exhibition viewing (wine and light refreshments)
5:00 pm - Kubi Ackerman, Director of the Future City Lab, introduces the Lab
5:10 pm - Lab open for exploration; Museum guides will be stationed in the Lab to answer questions
6:00 pm - Museum closes

About the Speakers:
Cecil Corbin-Mark is Deputy Director and Director of Policy Initiatives for WE ACT for Environmental Justice in Harlem. Corbin-Mark previously worked for the Bronx County District Attorney, New York State Justice Honorable W. T. Martin, the Mellon Minority Scholars Program, and the New York Public Library.

Genea Foster coordinates the Climate Justice Center and the Protect Our Working Waterfront Alliance at UPROSE, an intergenerational, multi-racial, nationally recognized community organization that promotes sustainability and resiliency in Brooklyn's Sunset Park neighborhood.  An urban planner with expertise in environmental planning, community development, and community engagement, Foster works on projects addressing climate resiliency, sustainable energy, brownfield redevelopment, public health, and environmental gentrification. 

Amitav Ghosh is the author of The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable, published in July 2016. He is an award winning novelist whose books include The Circle of Reason, The Shadow Lines, and The Glass Palace. His work has been translated into more than twenty languages and his essays have appeared in The New Yorker, The New Republic, and The New York Times.  

Mary Mattingly is a Brooklyn-based artist whose work explores issues of sustainability, climate change, and displacement. She is the founder of Swale, a floating food forest built atop a barge that travels to piers in New York City, offering educational programming and welcoming visitors to harvest herbs, fruits, and vegetables for free. 

Dr. Naomi Oreskes is Professor of the History of Science and Affiliated Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Harvard University. Her 2004 essay “The Scientific Consensus on Climate Change” (Science 306: 1686) has been widely cited, including in the Academy-award winning film An Inconvenient Truth and in Ian McEwan’s novel Solar

Andrew Revkin (moderator, "Confronting the Unthinkable") is Senior Reporter for climate and related issues at ProPublica. He has written on climate change for 30 years, from the Amazon to the North Pole, the White House to the Vatican. He joined the staff of the Pulitzer-winning public-interest newsroom in December after 21 years of writing for The New York Times. He has written acclaimed books on global warming, the changing Arctic, and the Amazon rain forest.

Courtney St. John (moderator, "Community Responses to Climate Change") is Director of Energy Transition at Climate Nexus, a strategic communications group dedicated to highlighting the impacts of climate change and clean energy solutions in the United States. St. John previously held positions at Columbia University’s Earth Institute, on the U.S. Navy’s Task Force Climate Change, and as a John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellow in the Office of the Oceanographer of the Navy. In 2015, Courtney was honored as a Climate “sHero,” one of 19 women working to advance action on climate change in New York City.

Dr. Elke Weber is the Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment and Professor of Psychology and Public Affairs at Princeton University. Her research examines and models decision-making under risk and uncertainty and time delay from a psychological and neuroscience perspective, with a focus on understanding and potentially correcting the often far from rational environmental decisions we make. 

$40 adults | $35 seniors, students, and educators (with ID) | $30 Museum members.
Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium can accommodate manual wheelchairs, however, our wheelchair lift cannot currently accommodate electric or motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Public Programs Department at 917.492.3395 or programs@mcny.org with any questions or concerns.

Sponsor

New York’s Future in a Changing Climate is sponsored by Savills Studley.

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?