Événement passé: Lancement de livre: El Barrio de Joseph Rodriguez dans les années 80

Quand : Mardi 12 décembre 2017, 6h30 - 8h30
Crédit photo: Joseph Rodriguez

Rejoignez le Musée de la ville de New York et Union Settlement pour célébrer le lancement du livre de Harlem espagnol: El Barrio dans les années 80.

Quand un photographe élevé à Brooklyn Joseph Rodriguez Il a fait ses débuts pour la première fois son œuvre tourné à Spanish Harlem dans les années 1980, il a vraiment capturé l'esprit du quartier. À cette époque, El Barrio était confronté à certains des problèmes les plus endémiques de la ville, notamment la criminalité, la drogue, le sida et le chômage chronique. Malgré ce sombre pronostic, le quartier a maintenu une communauté dynamique et un sentiment de fierté. Maintenant, trois décennies plus tard, le nouveau livre de Rodriguez Harlem espagnol: El Barrio dans les années 80 revisite son des photographies révolutionnaires, la découverte de nouvelles images et le recadrage du projet comme un projet qui a propulsé le documentaire dans le domaine des beaux-arts. Lire la suite dans le récent blog "Lens" de David Gonzalez Le New York Times.

Rodriguez sera rejoint par le conservateur du Musée des estampes et photographies, Sean Corcoran, pour une conversation sur son expérience en photographiant le quartier.

Réception et signature du livre à suivre.
Les livres seront disponibles à l'achat - tous les produits de la vente des livres iront à Règlement de l'union, l'une des plus anciennes maisons d'habitation de New York, offrant des services et des programmes communautaires qui soutiennent les immigrants et les résidents à faible revenu d'East Harlem.

À propos des conférenciers:
Joseph Rodriguez est un photographe documentaire né à Brooklyn et reconnu internationalement. Le travail de Rodriguez est apparu dans des publications allant de Newsweek à national Geographic. Il a reçu des prix et des subventions d'organisations telles que la National Endowment for the Arts et la Rockefeller Foundation. Il a reçu le prix Images de l'année par la National Press Photographers Association et l'Université du Missouri en 1990, 1992, 1996 et 2002.

Sean Corcoran est conservateur des estampes et des photographies au Musée de la ville de New York. Ses expositions ont inclus City as Canvas: l'art du graffiti de la collection Martin Wong, Dans le sud du Bronx d'Amérique: photographies de Mel Rosenthal Une ville vue: New York d'après-guerre de Todd Webb 1945-1960. La dernière exposition de Corcoran, Sous un autre angle: Stanley Kubrick Photographsouvrira ses portes au Musée le 3 mai 2018.

Cet événement fait partie de Conversations de base, une série de conférences, de conférences et de visites dans lesquelles les principaux penseurs de New York examinent les quatre thèmes clés de notre New York à son noyau exposition - diversité, densité, argent et créativité - chacune à travers sa propre lentille unique. Pour afficher tous les programmes de la série, cliquez sur ici.

Notre partenaire

Ce programme est présenté en partenariat avec Règlement de l'union.

Grâce à Livres PowerHouse.

Rejoignez MCNY!

Vous voulez des billets gratuits ou à prix réduit, des invitations à des événements spéciaux et plus encore?

Past Event: Book Launch: Joseph Rodriguez's El Barrio in the '80s

When: Tuesday, December 12, 6:30pm – 8:30pm
Price: $12 & up | $10 for Museum Members
Photo Credit: Joseph Rodriguez

Join the Museum of the City of New York and Union Settlement to celebrate the book launch of Spanish Harlem: El Barrio in the '80s. 

When Brooklyn-raised photographer Joseph Rodriguez first debuted his body of work shot in Spanish Harlem in the 1980s, it truly captured the spirit of the neighborhood. At that time, El Barrio was confronted with some of the city’s most endemic problems including crime, drugs, AIDS, and chronic unemployment. Despite this grim prognosis, the neighborhood maintained a vibrant community and sense of pride. Now, three decades later, Rodriguez's new book Spanish Harlem: El Barrio in the '80s revisits his groundbreaking photographs, uncovering new images and re-framing the project as one that pushed beyond documentary into the realm of fine art. Read more in David Gonzalez's recent "Lens" blog in The New York Times.

Rodriguez will be joined by the Museum's Curator of Prints and Photographs, Sean Corcoranfor a conversation about his experience photographing the neighborhood. 

Reception and book signing to follow.  
Books will be available for purchase -- all book sales proceeds will go to Union Settlement, one of the oldest settlement houses in New York City, providing community-based services and programs that support the immigrant and low-income residents of East Harlem.

About the Speakers:
Joseph Rodriguez is a Brooklyn born, internationally recognized documentary photographer.  Rodriguez's work has appeared in publications ranging from Newsweek to National Geographic. He has received awards and grants from organizations including the National Endowment for the Arts and the Rockefeller Foundation. He has been awarded Pictures of the Year by the National Press Photographers Association and the University of Missouri in 1990, 1992, 1996, and 2002. 

Sean Corcoran is the Curator of Prints and Photographs at the Museum of the City of New York. His exhibitions have included City as Canvas: Graffiti Art from the Martin Wong CollectionIn the South Bronx of America: Photographs by Mel Rosenthal, and A City Seen: Todd Webb’s Post-War New York 1945-1960. Corcoran's latest exhibition, Through a Different Lens: Stanley Kubrick Photographs, will open at the Museum on May 3, 2018.

This event is part of Core Conversations, a series of lectures, talks, and tours in which New York City's leading thinkers examine the four key themes of our New York at Its Core exhibition -- diversity, density, money, and creativity -- each through their own unique lens. To view all of the programs in the series, click here

$15 for adults | $12 for seniors, students & educators (with ID) | $10 for Museum Members.
Includes Museum admission.

Attention, Members, to receive your discount, click on the "Buy Tickets" button above, then sign in to your account on the ticketing page.

Groups of 10 or more get discounts and priority seating, email or call us at programs@mcny.org or 917-492-3395.

Assistive listening devices are available during our events. Our auditorium and wheelchair lift can accommodate manual, electric, and motorized wheelchairs. Please contact the Museum at 917.492.3333 or info@mcny.org with any questions or concerns.

Our Partner

This program is presented in partnership with Union Settlement

Thanks to powerHouse Books

Join MCNY!

Want free or discounted tickets, special event invites, and more?